Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Whirlpool Water Heaters
Shop Gas Water Heaters or
Choose a Category

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Whirlpool Water Heaters.

Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater

50G 12YR NG TALL WTR HTR 2"
Overall rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5
17
4
6
3
3
2
0
1
0
25 out of 25(100%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Review 1 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarbull
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Water Heater replaced.

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 02/26/2013
Waterheater was under warrantee and stopped firing. When all the replacement parts did not work , they replaced the heater. Very satisfied with the company response to the problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBiggie
From: White Plains
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

easy install

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Purchase Date: 02/12/2012
Only had it a couple of weeks, but no problems to report. Outstanding hot water supply. No more lukewarm showers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarDominic
From: Allen
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Very good product and great features

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 02/11/2013
Bought this water heater via. Lowe's - took 3 weeks to get it but that was OK. Our friend (who is a commercial licensed plumber) installed it in our attic without any issue. Great hot water. We are very happy with it. It only 2 weeks old and it's working so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarHome Handiman
From: Layton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

We were very impressed

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Pros: thermostat keeps precise control of the temperatur
Purchase Date: 01/30/2013
It is still new (this week), but we were very impressed with the refinements in the design of the new combination thermostat/gas valve, and its precise control of the hot water temperature. Installation was standard, but its appearance was good, and it maintains great temperature control of our hot water. One CON: I couldn't install the Flame Trap because of a sensor mounted on the bottom rim of the heater.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
Yes, I recommend this product

GOOD LOOKING

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 01/23/2013
We just had it installed , installation looked fast .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarDonnyC
From: Santa Clarita
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Replacement of a Whirlpool 50 Gallon 12 Year

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Pros: Easy to install
Purchase Date: 01/20/2013
I bought this unit to replace exactly the same brand and class of water heater that was installed in my house when I moved in 9.5 years ago.
It too was guaranteed for 12 years but did not last that long. I don't care since the previous home owner paid for it. It gave me no troubles till now when it begain to drip. I never drained the heater and it was filled with sediment. We have very hard water in this area. I plan to drain it every 6 or 12 months now that I have spent the money and done the installation myself. I had to buy two 3 inch nipples to hook up the water input/output and a gas line adapter since these things were not included and could not be salvaged from the old heater.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatargrumpyguy
From: Beavercreek
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer

low capacity

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Purchase Date: 01/18/2013
I used this 50 gallon unit to replace a competitro's 40 gallon unit to obtain adequate hot water for my walkin bath tub. Unfrotunayely for me it seems to have no more hot water than the 40 gallon unit so I wasted approxmately $800.00.
THANKS A LOT!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJBrown
From: Antioch
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

The prduct was easy to install an operate

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 12/24/2012
The water heater was easy to install and has energy saving features that I am looking for. The Ultra low Nox rating and autopilot light helps to protect our local air quality and saves on gas usage. The unit seems to be well built and has a better appearance that our older water heater.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSatisfied12
From: Staunton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great features and easy install

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 01/2/2013
Easy installation! Works great! I love the push button igniter--no more laying on the floor to manually light pilot! I chose the 50 gallon unit because of long showers by my wife and daughter--I get third chance--still as hot as the first!
It should lower my energy bill according to the estimates, too early to tell yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRD39
From: Seekonk
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Appears to have quality construction thru-out.

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 12/19/2012
Good quality construction. Liked electronic ingition and vent damper.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarreadthebook
From: Burnet
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

This gas water heater enhances our lives

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install, has a vacation setting, pilot easy to light
Purchase Date: 11/29/2012
This unit replaces a a 25-year-old dud of a water heater that had to be turned almost to high to get adequate water warmth. Our new water heater can be placed on a lower setting and still give us water hotter than before. It's only been installed 2 days and the comfort level has increased 4 fold. There's enough hot water for two appliances to run simultaneously because the recycle time is extremely fast. At the end of the day, my wife no longer complains about tepid showers. This water heater brought peace of mind.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarBontacur
From: Grand Rapids
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

seems adiquit

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 11/24/2012
My first experience with whirlpool. Price and capacity seemed adiquit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMomo 1
From: Denver
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Electric Pilot Light

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 11/21/2012
I likr the electric pilot light feature and the fact that it is easy to turn off and on with the flip of a switch
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarroryma
From: henderson
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

Replacement of old waterheater

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Pros: Lowered my energy bill
Purchase Date: 11/21/2012
this product -nd50t122-403
to be replace the old but under warranty waterheater FG1J5040T3NOV bought on
11/18/2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarkmad1995
From: Moundsville
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Early Returns Good

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 11/7/2012
The water heater was easy to install. The unit looks and works good. Got it at Lowes for $530 with a 10% Whirlpool sale. The same unit at Lowes Online was $100 more. Not sure why the difference, but not complaining about that at all. My only complaint about the water heater is the power cable. It is mounted to go to the left side of the heater. My outlet is on the right side and there is no good way to route the cable. Would be nice if the power cable came out of the top. The jury is out as it has only been installed for a week, but works great. Have seen other reviews complaining about the noise level, but mine is relatively quite.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarhadtwo
From: New York
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

so far, so good

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 11/1/2012
Installation was fairly easy. I like the energy efficent aspects of this unit. Did not notice any unusual noise as suggested in some reviews I read. Obviously better insulated than the old unit - outside is cool to the touch even when the burner is on. Hoping to get 10 years from this unit, as I did from the old one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarfumanchu
From: bohunk
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

great water heater

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 09/21/2012
This is a very efficient water heater. I like the dampner on the flue gas to help keep the heat in after heating the water. The only issue I have is that the dust cover that goes around the bottom of the water heater does not fit due to a bracket being mounted in the way of the mesh installation. Installation was very easy. Have not had it long enough to see the reliability and energy consumption.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLaura
From: Las Vega
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

Very Happy

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 08/10/2012
I am very please with the water heater and it looks good too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarJAYC
From: RIVERTON
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

THIS HAS GREAT FEATURES

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 09/24/2012
THIS WATER HEATER IS THE BEST FOR THE PRICE. IT WAS LESS THAT ANY OTHER.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBIG DADDY
From: PORTLAND
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

THIS PRODUCT IS ENERGY STAR

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable
Cons: Difficult to install
Purchase Date: 09/5/2012
LOOKING FORWARD OF THE SAVINGS I WILL BE GETTING WITH THIS WATER HEATER.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next »>>