Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V

Whirlpool 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V

19 Gallon Point-of-Use Electric Water Heater - 6 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5
27
4
21
3
10
2
1
1
1
53 out of 57(93%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Review 1 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarTomE
From: Rolla
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Just installed it

PostedDecember 24, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
We will have to wait and see. Everything looks good so far. It has been operating for about 2 hours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarrshaf45
From: Naples
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Works fine so far

PostedDecember 16, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
This thing heats water. So far, so good. Writing a review on the day of installation / registration is a fool's errand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Unit much smaller in diameter easier to work with in tight spaces.

PostedDecember 16, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance
I like the quality name that whirpool carries with it. Top main outlets make for easier removal of future replacement. Since a plumbing contractor installed it cannot comment on pros & cons outside of external appearance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRugerlc9
From: Daytona Beach
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Great deal and great service!

PostedDecember 15, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
This is a well engineered and well built water heater which was a good deal to purchase and installation was a breeze. It is providing excellent service to my home.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBorger 51
From: Borger
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good Product

PostedNovember 28, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Model was available in big box store. Purchased, brought home and installed the same day. Very easy installation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarChuck
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good size

PostedNovember 14, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Fits good in crawl space at camp. Does what it's supposed to, (makes water hot).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarVinegar Bob.
From: Sanford
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

This product fits the bill.

PostedNovember 12, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance
Cons: Difficult to install
The water heater I took out was installed in Dec 1999. It finally quit October 28,2015. That's 16 years. I hope this one works that long. It was a different manufacturer but same model number. Dimensions, wattage, and voltage are the same. The 19 gallon tank is plenty adequate for a bathroom shower and lavatory we have in one corner of our workshop. This unit appears to be better insulated than the old one. The installation instructions were very informative. I considered an expansion tank but I have an above ground water pump and well water pressure that varies from only 30 to 50 lbs. I did install a pressure gauge between the shut-off valve and the cool water inlet just to monitor the situation. I followed directions and we are getting good results here in central Florida at the 120 degree setting. I also used a 24" drain pan. I couldn't find a smaller pan. The new fittings, gauge, and pan added another $50 or so. I had to refit a PVC fitting on the cold water nipple going into tank to fix a small leak. I wrapped the tape seven times around the threads and tightened very carefully with pipe wrench to avoid splitting the female PVC fitting. Good Luck!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarehukaisurf
From: Oahu
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

perfect size for under counter kitchen location in 2 person household

PostedOctober 12, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance, sized right for under counter
Cons: tiny persistent leak at cold water inlet connectio
Good instructions and easy to install.
Only issue/problem is that threads of the cold water inlet are extremely tight and make it difficult to fully seat the hex nipple that the supply hose will connect to. I am having difficulty to stem a slow leak coming up thru the threads at this location. I have been systematically torturing down on the nipple with heavy exertion on the wrench, but despite having reached the point where it will no longer budge, there is still some seepage which has me concerned. Will call tech support number once again for further advice on solving this, or if necessary return this unit to Lowes for an exchange, because I like the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarjjs1952
From: Tucson
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Well made and good instructions

PostedOctober 10, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
The only suggestion is the screw that holds the plate for temp control is too short pops off a lot I had to get a bigger screw to hold it on ,other than that very good :>)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarjimmy
From: murfreesboro,tn
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

good unit

PostedSeptember 9, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
This was an easy install. fits nicely in a small area.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarhuckelberry675
From: Anniston
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
No, I do not recommend this product

Product reliability is equivelant to the warrant expiration period.

PostedSeptember 1, 2015
Cons: Difficult to install, Unreliable
This is the third unit that I have installed in the past 12 years. The units last just beyond the warranty period then breaks down.
The dimensions are the primary reason I have stuck with the Whirlpool model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarnarcdogg
From: Dayton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Prefect Fit

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
I live on a houseboat part-time and space is limited. I don't need nor do I have space for a 40 gal heater.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarFreddy Fixit
From: Milford, CT
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Excellent heater for that needed hot water!

PostedJuly 16, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance, extra hot water!
Cons: short life-span!
Easy to install; works very well, but don't count on more than 5 to 7 years life-span! This is my fourth one installed in the same place in the past 21 years. They have a tentency to leak after in use for 5 to seven years! But it makes up for the short amount of hot water from my oil furnace!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSharky
From: Crane Hill, Al 35053
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

this waterheater fits my needs perfectly.

PostedJuly 15, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
I use this type of waterheater because it fits into a small space.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatargramjoan
From: Hiawassee
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install

PostedJune 29, 2015
Pros: Reliable
I love whirlpool products.They have always been my
first choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRoxanne 11
From: pompano Beach
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

nice features

PostedJune 24, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Easy to install priced appropriate. Nice warranty . great features.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarmrcando
From: Tracy City
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good Product if You Enjoy Replacing Every Few Years

PostedMay 16, 2015
I have just now installed the third exact model of this water heater in 15 yrs. You can read comments from other users who have finally replaced their water heater after 15 yrs. or more. That's because they used to make water heaters to last. Nowadays, the bean counters rule and our landfills are growing daily. The only reason I continue to buy this model is because I don't want to have to change my plumbing configuration to accommodate a different heater and all the others are made just as cheaply. Enjoy!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatardalgozy
From: Bacliff
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
No, I do not recommend this product

Poor plug design

PostedMay 15, 2015
Cons: Difficult to install, could not remove side plugs
Plumber could not remove side plugs to install from side plugs instead of top. Required extra cost for installation of $45.00 to install using top connections. I would NOT recommend if you must use side inlet and outlet. He used a breaker bar and couldn't budge the side caps. I had no choice but to pay the $45.00 extra for extra parts and labor to install using top connectors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarBear
From: Strong
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Not good

PostedApril 29, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: plugs installed too tight
Plugs that require 1/2" drive wrench are put in too tight. To remove them requires too much force and I was really afraid that could damage tank liner. Box says that side connections and that is what I needed but these were holes that were plugged too tightly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 20 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E1F20US015V 120V
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarFrankpug
From: Greensboro
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

So far so good

PostedMarch 29, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Just installed yesterday so I can't comment of performance. But so far so good. The 19 gallon capacity is perfect for our needs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next »>>