Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V

Whirlpool 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V

80 Gallon Tall Electric Water Heater - 6 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.47 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 66 reviews
5
38
4
22
3
5
2
1
1
0
62 out of 65(95%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Review 1 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarEddie
From: Orange
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

This water heater was easy to install and look great.

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
Cons: Raised my energy bill
I bought this water heater because of it's easy instalation, and great features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarDave
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Repeat buyer

PostedJanuary 22, 2015
I installed this same model heater 11 years ago and had good results. The last tank finally rusted under the lower thermostat causing the tank to heat excessively. The upper thermostat safety device worked properly and cut power before any harm was done. This type failure can happen with any heater.
I recommend checking any tank (on a yearly basis) for signs of leaks or damage to detect problems early. Compared to other heaters with similar specifications, this model has a competitive price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatarJimr
From: 1007 High St.
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
No, I do not recommend this product

Hot water heater not working properly

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Cons: not heating poperly
It has been three days since the plumber installed water heater and he will not be back in town for several more days. In meantime we get hot water for just a little while and then it turns cold. We allowed new hot water heater 24 hours t fill and heat up so we cannot figure out what is wrong. Cannot rate your product as it does not work. James Rogers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBrian
From: Roanoke
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy installation

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
Bought this water heater because of the problems I have had previously with any appliance using a digital control module having various failures and lack of service availability. However, if you trust the digital controls, purchase the 12 year warranty model. It is only approx $70 more and it doubles your warranty. This unit installed easily and the temperature controls work on the money. Granted they are old school and require you to open the unit and set the thermostat with a screwdriver, but I'm an old school kinda guy. Other than the warranty only be 6 months, I fully recommend this water heater.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarOzzie
From: Griffin
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

warranty??

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance
My old water heater carried a lifetime warranty. The new one only has a 6 year warranty. Whirlpool did swap units but for a lesser warranty and a lower price water heater
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMtn Man
From: Gatlinburg
Yes, I recommend this product

Does the job!

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, quiet operation, well insulated
Cons: drain design?
The drain design is lacking. Can't get H2o hose to it when it is in a drain pan. Maybe someone knows of an adapter that fits on the drain pan...?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: auburn
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

this product is easy to install

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
easy to install
reasonable price
reliable brand
appealing appearance
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarStan
From: Cuba
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great features for the price

PostedNovember 23, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
The product was the right height for our installation. It also had the features we were looking. The price was right. It was easy to install. It has only been in for a day so I do not know if it will be energy efficient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMark35
From: Fort Wayne
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Its working great.

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Pros: Reliable
When my old water heater broke, I did research found out I needed a 80 gallon water heater for a family of 6. I have a whirlpool dish washer so I decided to get a whirlpool water heater since I like my dishwasher. I have only used the water heater for ten days but so far I have no complaints and I have hot water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarflexx2
From: Indianapolis
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

This product has great quality, it didnt take long for the water to become hot after hook up.

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
The product came in very handy in our time of need. We also got the product at a reasonable price. Due to our family size we needed a product of this capacity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarScottD
From: Metropolis
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Product is good BUT

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
Cons: worried about the element malfunction
I bought one like this six years ago and installed it during a remodel. It worked very well until 08/28/14 when the lower element shorted out or something and burned up the plastic where the wires attach on the lower element. Thankfully the circuit breakers kicked and prevented any further damage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarfxlr
From: Vestal
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Review

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: price and longevity
This product is replacing an identical model which lasted
12 1/2 years. Replaced three elements in the previous unit
probably due to hard water.
Also seems better insulated than previous model with foam
instead of fiberglass.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmr.nature
From: Ghent
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Is effiecent and high quality

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
The plumber did an excellent job installing the water heater, and it fit perfect into the desired placement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarJeanette77
From: Scott Depot
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Product works well

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
We bought this hot water tank to replace one just like it that was 8 1/2 years old that started leaking. The installation was easy since the plumbing was the same. The first one worked well and we had plenty of hot water for multiple showers. Wished it would have lasted longer and I would have noticed the leak sooner! Did install a drain pan under the new one this time though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: Pomeroy
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Appesars to be Okay, for now!

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Installation was a breeze, once I reconstructed the space into which it was to be placed. It replaced a 40 gallon heater because of a walk in tub I installed earlier. It was the only make 80 gallon water heater I could find on the market that had "No more" than 24 inches in diameter. Electrical was the same as the older one. Plumbing needed to be revamped, but was relatively simple. Overall, I am well pleased with the simplicity by which the job was accomplished. No problems at all. The instruction booklet was clear and simple to understand. I only required help after purchase when lowering the heater from the truck bed to the ground. I'm 85!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarDabney
From: Louisville
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good for the price but a few cheap features.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Immediately replaced Pop off valve before installing - not to much quality there.
Plastic drain valve - not to much quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarburt
From: knoxville
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

The product has great features and easy to install

PostedJune 22, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
Whirlpool product are very reliable and I know that the company will stand behind their products.The water heater ;installation instructions and use & care guide is very detailed and a great help. The appearance of the product is very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarSolar lady
From: Phoenix
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product seems reliable.

PostedJune 21, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
We were very aggrieved to be told by Lowe's (WHERE OUR ORIGINAL WATER HEATER WAS PURCHASED), first, that they refused to install the water heater and we needed to find a "certified" solar specialist because it is connected to a passive, solar system. After much research we found there is no such certification. Then Lowes told us they just flat-out refused to install the water heater because it is connected to a solar system. THIS TOOK US 8 DAYS TO FINALLY FIND A PLUMBER WHO WOULD INSTALL OUR water heater.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarfootball1999
From: keystone
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

good product

PostedMay 26, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
The product was an easy install. Took less than 2 hours to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - E2F80HD045V
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarSideras
From: Charleston
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install

PostedMay 15, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
Basic water heater. Easy to install by myself. Be sure to check the connections on the heating elements and thermostats as most were not tight on this unit.
Hooked it up and it worked. Took about 2 hours to remove the old one and install the new one. I still need to hook up the over temp/over pressure relief valve as the old one was on the top and the new one is on the side. Just a few parts and it will be back to normal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next »>>