Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D

Whirlpool 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D

50 Gallon Energy Smart Electric Water Heater - 12 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.627 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(735 reviews) 735
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 735 reviews
5
509
4
187
3
33
2
3
1
3
703 out of 718(98%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Review 1 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarmomma2
From: Piedmont
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Love the look too!

PostedJune 12, 2011
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 02/27/2011
Very pleased with our purchase of the water heater!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarhappyinstall
From: Canton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy Install

PostedJune 12, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 06/12/2011
Owners manual very easy to follow, install instructions excellent. It's 12 yr warranty is a huge plus, I don't want to install another anytime sooner than 12yrs. It's biggest positive to me is the dual SS heating elements, to many are using either just copper or mixed one SS the other copper. * Heater is set to 120 degrees and the tank isn't giving off any heat. Which tells me the insulation is excellent
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarwork with my hands
From: Kenmore
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

ok

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 07/1/2011
Replaces a Whirlpool model #EE3Z50RD055V Serial#0223105010 which was a good heater untill it went out.We installed it in 10/18/02
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarbabyduck
From: winchester
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

This unit was very easy to install. It looks nice but we liked the energystarII looks and convenience better.

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Pros: Easy to install
Purchase Date: 06/21/2011
unit was easy to install. we love that whirlpool actually stands behind its warranty, that's worth buying the product for. we still prefer the Energy star II style for the programming unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarPORKCHOP
From: SANFORD
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

HSA GREAT FEATURES

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 07/7/2011
THIS SEEMS TO A GOOD WATER HEATER.
TIME WILL TELL. IT IS APPEALING IN DESIGN AND LOOKS, I ANTICIPATE IT PERFORMING AS WELL.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarindel
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

like the digital features

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Pros: Easy to install
Purchase Date: 07/23/2011
Easy to adjust temperatures
and has 3 presets to save energy.
Comes with a 12 year warranty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMr Glenn
From: Kissimmee
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

No thermostat to look for!

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 07/30/2011
The front of the unit contains a backlit LCD, with the temperature prominently displayed. Changing the temp is easy, and the Energy Smart feature eliminates the need for a timer. There also is a vacation mode. Over all nice looking unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarOLE.DP
From: Farmington
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Come a long way as far as H.W. Heaters go. Good Job

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 08/8/2011
Wondering if The Data control panel could have been located on the top of the unit, especally for older people.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarresjb
From: White Hall
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Monitor of heater status

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Pros: Easy to install
Purchase Date: 08/13/2011
This unit has a great feature of monitoring it's operational status. The ease of controlling and "locking" the front controls is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarjjhost
From: uniontown
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

good warranty

PostedAugust 26, 2011
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 08/26/2011
Great product great warranty good energy product nice looking
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarHOTBATH
From: NEWARK
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

THIS PRODUCT HAS GOOD FEATURES

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 08/29/2011
WILL RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ALL MY FRIENDS, IT HAS A VERY GOOD WARRANTY AND WHIRLPOOL WILL HONOR IT WITH NO PROBLEM.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarwilliam
From: tulsa
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Great product

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Cons: none
Purchase Date: 09/3/2011
it was installed in about 30 minutes and in about 15 minutes after that we had hot water!!! Very hot water!!! this is a great hot water heater
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRicky
From: Gilbert
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

I really like the features

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 09/6/2011
I love the water heater. I just hope it lasts a long time. The warranty is great.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarhoney99
From: Groton
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

good product

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 09/7/2011
easy to install - nice appearance - in stock at lowe's
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarPilotm11
From: Evans
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install and setup

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 09/5/2011
This is as easy to install as they come, the standard 3/4 couplings come pre installed, all there was to do is install new o-rings in the house 3/4 female ends and connect and then the 3 wires. Heats fast And keep the hot water flowing even after 4 showers it still puts out 103 f water and it's set at 120. Nice heater.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarZeek
From: Dillsburg
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

So Far So Good . . .

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 09/14/2011
Replaced a leaking oil fired unit with this one. Installation was breeze. Use Sharkbite/Gatorbite fittings, it will make the install a whole lot easier. I have plenty of hot water with three people on the Energysmart mode. There were many issues with the old style with the boards, but it appears they have redesigned it. I bought it because of the warranty and the fact the heater still works if you have to remove the board for replacement. One thing I would recommend before you install it is to dig out the foam insulation to get to the anode rod because depending on your install location that will be difficult after the fact. There is about 2-3" to dig out and vacuum away. I then repacked it with fiberglass that will pull out easily to check the anode rod.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMark
From: Phoenix
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator

Great value and features

PostedSeptember 24, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 08/18/2011
Easy installation, high quality components, easy to change settings, and long warranty,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAO1 Ret.
From: Carlisle
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Good product

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance
Purchase Date: 07/27/2011
The predesessor to this unit failed within 4 years. The tank began leaking. Whirlpool without question honored their waranty and I was able to receive this unit as a replacement promptly. I can not say as to why the previous failed so early, but the customer sopport from whirlpool by far makes up for the early demise of the water heater. Thanks for the support and I hope for a long lasting partnership with my current unit.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarHappy Camper
From: Vancouver
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

So far, so good.

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 10/6/2011
We just installed the water heater, things went well. We thought the insturctions were written well and they were very easy to understand. We purchased the 12 year warranty model as it has 50% more insulation than the 9 year model. We are recommending the unit for the reasons listed above. We have yet to use the heater long enough to offer more of a recommendation at this time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to use diplay

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance
Purchase Date: 09/12/2011
User friendly controls yet to know about the reliabilty on this heater only fives weeks in use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 37 Next »>>