Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D

Whirlpool 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D

80 Gallon Energy Smart Electric Water Heater - 12 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.678 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(267 reviews) 267
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 267 reviews
5
196
4
60
3
8
2
2
1
1
259 out of 263(98%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Review 1 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmickjackson55
From: CLARKSVILLE
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product has awesome features. I did not know a water heater could do so many things, it has a vacation button and everything.

PostedMarch 6, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
This is a great product, I would recommend it to all my friends and family. With all the features that it has it can run it self without any help, I love the fact that it has the vacation button and that it has digital read out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarchronosvandien
From: Eastanollee, Georgia
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Nice features

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Bought this 80 gallon "smart"water heater to replace an older 50 gallon in a home I just purchased. This water heater is made much better than the old one, or others I have installed. Installation was easy, even with the grid system. The instructions are fairly easy to understand and explain the features well.
Have not used it yet because we are not moved in yet. Currently have it set on "vacation" mode which keeps the water at 60 degrees to prevent freezing. So far I like it but need to see a full months use including power bill before I can give a 100% rating.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarKJH777
From: Stafford
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

This product was easy to install, easy to use and has great features

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
A great product that is energy smart, heats water quickly and it's great features are very easy to use. I really like the digital temperature display because you can easily see what the current temperature is and you can easily adjust it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarhowie
From: Wolfeboro
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

An Excellant Product

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install, easy to use, easy to set up for vacation mode
Having to purchase and install a new Hot Water tank over the Christmas Holidays in Wolfeboro NH with snow on the ground and family wanting to take a shower etc etc. could have been a disaster but instead was a rather pleasant experience due to the quality, ease of installation and overall price of this product.
Reading the instructions is highly recommended and once it was turned on it was practically worry free.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarjacks1son
From: Tullahoma
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy access touch pad w/energy smart feature

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, easy access touch pad, energy smart option
I especially like the easy access touch pad with the energy smart option; no more wondering if the element is working or having to unscrew the panels to change the temperature or put on vacation mode. The best part about the install was that the contractor tipped me off about rebates through TVA for these energy smart water heaters.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Looks good

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Cons: expectations not met
I expected the digital readout to indicate the water temperature.
I have not found the energy rating to know if it qualifies for a rebate from my Power Company.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSteve
From: Sykesville
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great appliance

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 03/8/2012
Easy to install, set up and run. Unit went right into place of old one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarMartinFan
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Installed easy

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 11/6/2011
Too new to tell about efficiency and cost. Standard temperature is set to 120 which I raised to 130. the energy smart feature seems nice I'll have to check my bill for cost evaluations. After installation my overall water pressure was down so I increased by changing the PRV setting on my inlet main water line. Seems fine now, I wonder if this is because of the energy smart detection in the water heater.....
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarWayne
From: Eastern NC
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

It seams to have good design, quality and ease of use, I will let you know in 12 years

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
It seams to have good design, quality and ease of use, I will let you know in 12 years
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product is easy to learn with great features

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
Easy install and great price! Glad to get an 80 gallon
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLady7
From: Springville
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This heater was easy to program

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
We are happy to have a larger water heater. When company would visit we always ran out of hot water. The heater is styled very modern and looks great in our basement. It fit perfect where the other one was removed. Looking forward to many years of use as it has a 12 yr. warranty.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmart p
From: Rockingham
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Yes, I recommend this product

This product has great features

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Installed unit on 3-9-2015 with the help of my father in law. This unit replaced a twelve year old 50 gallon tank. It is just me and my wife at my house. We do use our Whirlpool bathtub and before when the tube was full there was no more hot water but now there is plenty of hot water to go around.
The installation was very straight forward and completed in about an hour and a half. This is a very large tank and I am glad it is in the garage due to it's size but the stainless steel is very pleasing to the eye and the digital readout is nice. I cannot rate whether or not it has helped with our power bill but I am willing to bet it will.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarct105
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Overall a good product

PostedMarch 13, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
The unit was easy to installed. Has worked accordlying to its specifications.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJehosaphat the plumber
From: Lebanon
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

good product

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance
So far so good. Electronic control is user friendly. I like the extra inch of insulation as compared to other brands/models. Seems to deliver plenty of hot water in reasonable time. No problems, would recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarPete72
From: Muncy
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Excellent features

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable
One of the lowest cost water heaters in it's class and like the feature for setting while on vacation. Easily supplies our hot water needs.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatartoeasy
From: Greenville
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

I love this product

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Cons: size
This product has great features. The water temperature is easily displayed. It was very easy to install. I am able to use the hot water in every room that has hot water at the same time.
Overall this is a great product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarDogman007
From: Lancaster
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to use.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
I just had it installed. I can't rate an opinion at this time.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJohn7
From: Charleston
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Installation was easy and good value.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
The hot water tank was easy to install and directions were simple and easy to follow. Electronic control is easy to operate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarron70
From: Augusta
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product has all I want from a water heater

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
The 80 gal capacity provides plenty of hot water for walk in tub without running out of hot water for other things and the digital display controls make it easy to change desired temperature level with the push of the finger.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarRickster
From: Pennsylvania
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Water heater has basic features and more advanced features

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
Our old hot water heater of 11+ yrs started to leak and I located this unit as a valid replacement for our existing unit. The cost of it and installation of it wasn't bad. I actually installed it with a family member who has done this type of installation before.
I would recommend this as it has the standard features that you can use if you just want a standard hot water heater. But it also has more advanced features that give you the option for more energy efficiency, ...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next »>>