Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D

Whirlpool 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D

80 Gallon Energy Smart Electric Water Heater - 12 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.654 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(237 reviews) 237
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 237 reviews
5
169
4
58
3
7
2
2
1
1
229 out of 233(98%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Review 1 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarjacks1son
From: Tullahoma
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy access touch pad w/energy smart feature

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, easy access touch pad, energy smart option
I especially like the easy access touch pad with the energy smart option; no more wondering if the element is working or having to unscrew the panels to change the temperature or put on vacation mode. The best part about the install was that the contractor tipped me off about rebates through TVA for these energy smart water heaters.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Looks good

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Cons: expectations not met
I expected the digital readout to indicate the water temperature.
I have not found the energy rating to know if it qualifies for a rebate from my Power Company.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSteve
From: Sykesville
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great appliance

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 03/8/2012
Easy to install, set up and run. Unit went right into place of old one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarMartinFan
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Installed easy

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 11/6/2011
Too new to tell about efficiency and cost. Standard temperature is set to 120 which I raised to 130. the energy smart feature seems nice I'll have to check my bill for cost evaluations. After installation my overall water pressure was down so I increased by changing the PRV setting on my inlet main water line. Seems fine now, I wonder if this is because of the energy smart detection in the water heater.....
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarhowie
From: Wolfeboro
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

An Excellant Product

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install, easy to use, easy to set up for vacation mode
Having to purchase and install a new Hot Water tank over the Christmas Holidays in Wolfeboro NH with snow on the ground and family wanting to take a shower etc etc. could have been a disaster but instead was a rather pleasant experience due to the quality, ease of installation and overall price of this product.
Reading the instructions is highly recommended and once it was turned on it was practically worry free.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJohn7
From: Charleston
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Installation was easy and good value.

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
The hot water tank was easy to install and directions were simple and easy to follow. Electronic control is easy to operate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarron70
From: Augusta
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product has all I want from a water heater

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
The 80 gal capacity provides plenty of hot water for walk in tub without running out of hot water for other things and the digital display controls make it easy to change desired temperature level with the push of the finger.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarRickster
From: Pennsylvania
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Water heater has basic features and more advanced features

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
Our old hot water heater of 11+ yrs started to leak and I located this unit as a valid replacement for our existing unit. The cost of it and installation of it wasn't bad. I actually installed it with a family member who has done this type of installation before.
I would recommend this as it has the standard features that you can use if you just want a standard hot water heater. But it also has more advanced features that give you the option for more energy efficiency, ...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarK Dan
From: Hickory
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

Excellent for family of 5

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
With a family of 5, we elected to upgrade from a 40 gallon unit to an 80 gallon unit. Couldn't be happier. Screen interface is great. Easy to set up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarJBW78
From: Vidalia, Georgia
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Overall product works well and easy to use.

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: blow-off valve problem
When we first installed the water heater we had water periodically coming our of the blow-off valve. Not large amounts but something that shouldn't have been happening. Had my plumber install an expansion tank on unit and the problem stop, no more water on floor!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: baltimore
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Plastic parts

PostedDecember 14, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: plastic drain valve
The water heater came with a plastic drain valve that leaks and needed replaced. Then the pressure relief valve leaks once in a while so that needs replaced.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarColtp321
From: Veneta
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Hot water heater

PostedJune 12, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Have not had long enough to compare energy consumption comparison, or reliability. easy to install and set up. You would think with this model /cost/ warranty it would have a brass drain valve instead of plastic! I replaced a 66 gallon A.O. Smith heater that was 10 years old, so I have upgraded the size considerably. Thus may not see lower energy bill.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: Charlotte
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Very Pleased with this product

PostedJune 5, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Easy to install and no one has complained about running out of hot water, even when my teenagers shower for ever.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarleslie72
From: Seminole
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
No, I do not recommend this product

I like all the features of the smart module

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: Unreliable
Although the price is on the high side, I like all the features of this water heater. At 4 months the electronic thermostat failed. Tech support was good to send me another thermostat overnight, but all the error codes in troubleshooting refer to the electronic thermostat, which I fear will be a continuing problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatartugger
From: elizabethtown
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

good features and appearence

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
I had no problem installing this with my wife's help. We had shopped around and liked the features and the appearance of the water heater. We felt this was a good buy for the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMatt
From: Eastern Kentucky
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

East to install.

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, allows you to control water heater.
Removed the small 40 and installed this 80 gallon unit in a couple hours. I like the electronic smart module, its allow you to set water temp and several other options. Worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJEEPSTER76
From: east stroudsburg
Plumbing Expertise: Professional Plumber
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

easy to install and set up

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Reliable
Have been a plumber for 30+ years very easy installation and easy start up. Very user friendly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJoeR7505
From: Cape Coral
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install and easy to use

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
this new smart hot water heater was just as easy to install and the traditional hot water heater. I love the fact that it is digitally controlled including the thermostat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRUTROW
From: Kansas City
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

EASY HOOK-UP

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
I just installed it yesterday, but so far so good. It was a breeze to install and operate. Nothing complicated on it at all. I say that, because I didn't use the smart home feature. It has the option though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarwightie13
From: Lynchburg
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great product

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Installation instructions were very good and it started up fine. It warmed up quite fast. Silent and easy to use!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next »>>