Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D

Whirlpool 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D

80 Gallon Energy Smart Electric Water Heater - 12 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.651 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(209 reviews) 209
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 209 reviews
5
149
4
51
3
6
2
2
1
1
202 out of 205(99%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Review 1 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarjacks1son
From: Tullahoma
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy access touch pad w/energy smart feature

PostedFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, easy access touch pad, energy smart option
I especially like the easy access touch pad with the energy smart option; no more wondering if the element is working or having to unscrew the panels to change the temperature or put on vacation mode. The best part about the install was that the contractor tipped me off about rebates through TVA for these energy smart water heaters.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Looks good

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Cons: expectations not met
I expected the digital readout to indicate the water temperature.
I have not found the energy rating to know if it qualifies for a rebate from my Power Company.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSteve
From: Sykesville
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great appliance

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 03/8/2012
Easy to install, set up and run. Unit went right into place of old one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarMartinFan
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Installed easy

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 11/6/2011
Too new to tell about efficiency and cost. Standard temperature is set to 120 which I raised to 130. the energy smart feature seems nice I'll have to check my bill for cost evaluations. After installation my overall water pressure was down so I increased by changing the PRV setting on my inlet main water line. Seems fine now, I wonder if this is because of the energy smart detection in the water heater.....
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarColtp321
From: Veneta
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Hot water heater

PostedJune 12, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Have not had long enough to compare energy consumption comparison, or reliability. easy to install and set up. You would think with this model /cost/ warranty it would have a brass drain valve instead of plastic! I replaced a 66 gallon A.O. Smith heater that was 10 years old, so I have upgraded the size considerably. Thus may not see lower energy bill.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: Charlotte
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Very Pleased with this product

PostedJune 5, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Easy to install and no one has complained about running out of hot water, even when my teenagers shower for ever.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarleslie72
From: Seminole
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
No, I do not recommend this product

I like all the features of the smart module

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: Unreliable
Although the price is on the high side, I like all the features of this water heater. At 4 months the electronic thermostat failed. Tech support was good to send me another thermostat overnight, but all the error codes in troubleshooting refer to the electronic thermostat, which I fear will be a continuing problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatartugger
From: elizabethtown
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

good features and appearence

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
I had no problem installing this with my wife's help. We had shopped around and liked the features and the appearance of the water heater. We felt this was a good buy for the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMatt
From: Eastern Kentucky
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

East to install.

PostedMarch 8, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, allows you to control water heater.
Removed the small 40 and installed this 80 gallon unit in a couple hours. I like the electronic smart module, its allow you to set water temp and several other options. Worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJEEPSTER76
From: east stroudsburg
Plumbing Expertise: Professional Plumber
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

easy to install and set up

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Reliable
Have been a plumber for 30+ years very easy installation and easy start up. Very user friendly
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJoeR7505
From: Cape Coral
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install and easy to use

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
this new smart hot water heater was just as easy to install and the traditional hot water heater. I love the fact that it is digitally controlled including the thermostat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRUTROW
From: Kansas City
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

EASY HOOK-UP

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
I just installed it yesterday, but so far so good. It was a breeze to install and operate. Nothing complicated on it at all. I say that, because I didn't use the smart home feature. It has the option though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarwightie13
From: Lynchburg
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great product

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Installation instructions were very good and it started up fine. It warmed up quite fast. Silent and easy to use!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarCJH1
From: Lexington, OH
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Water heats fast!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
While I just installed it today, I like the options to have an economy mode, standard mode or vacation mode. I always used to shut the water heater breaker off when leaving for vacation. The water heated up really fast after installation!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatartcsi
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Digital display is great

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, whirlpool products have been reliable in the past
This is our first day with this water heater. Having the digital display clearly shows the mode it is in as well as the temperature it is set to. With luck it will hold up well and we will use the "Vacation" feature soon!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarbob931
From: Crossville
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Works wonderfully

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Pros: Reliable, $$$, set up panel
Cons: 2 wiring locations electrican was unfamiliar..
I was worried about replacing my 75g gas water heater with an electric one. So far, my worries were unfounded. The price, the size, hot water... all great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarKawasakikx65
From: Lewistown
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great sources

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Does not meet my energy sources rebate because of usage
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: Newton Falls
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Nice unit

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
This works as it should and would recommend to anyone. Pleased with our choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRetired Engineer
From: Elkton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

High end features for great price.

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, new so remains to be seen
Purchase Date: 02/17/2013
I researched the market thoroughly on line and also had a trusted professional plumber come out and make recommendations of their high end brand that is not available except to professionals. I found that the top end Whirlpool (12 year warranty version) had features the top end Bradley-White didn't even have, plus 3" of foam insulation versus their 2" insulation that sold me on the Whirlpool. Of course, I love the easy to use electronic controls, versus removing a plate and turning a screw in an attempt to find the right setting. Whirlpool has done it again and has come through as the appliance of choice for my household needs. My kitchen is full of Whirlpool products as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 80 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES80H123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarFranksfromAL
From: Madison
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good features

PostedFebruary 6, 2013
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: failed pressure relief valve
Purchase Date: 02/1/2013
So far I like everything about it. I had a problem with the pressure relief valve. It leaked after installation, so I had to get a replacement valve to correct the problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next »>>