Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403

Whirlpool 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403

40 Gallon Tall Natural Gas Water Heater - 6 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.33 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 100 reviews
5
49
4
39
3
10
2
0
1
2
96 out of 99(97%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Review 1 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarfoessc
From: Sacramento
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy setup

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
Did not take as long as I thought it would to install and set up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarDarlene75
From: Ontario
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Great features

PostedAugust 17, 2014
The product works great, like the digital display, very quiet too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatargreg56
From: Bakersfield
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

This product has great features

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install, ver quiet
I bought 2 of these water heaters very easy to install and easy to light. Keep our water plenty hot year round. Never had any problems with the 1st one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSLAP
From: Anaheim
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

A quality product for the right price

PostedJune 22, 2014
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
I did not have any issue while installing this product, and it has been 3 months and it is working fine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: San Francisco
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Whirlpool Gas water heater

PostedJune 10, 2014
Pros: Easy to install, flashing pios light is easy to see
Parts and tools needed for installation (printed on box) should include - (2) 4" nipples for the water supply to water heater connections. Without the nipples you can not install this water heater.
Nipples connection installation should say - use teflon tape on connections. I first used pipe compound on both hot & cold nipples and they both leaked. I then re-installed with teflon tape and no leaks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMoe10
From: Stockton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy install.

PostedMay 31, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Very nicely thought out. Easily installed. Lowes has an excellent extended warranty service and a retired plumber actually helped me in making my decision that worked at Lowes. It took me a little over 2 hours from removing my old water heater to actually having hot water without any leaks. Good job!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSkullbasher
From: union city
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Works great.

PostedApril 19, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
Was very easy to light the pilot light on the 1st attempt .We had hot water in no time at all,seems to be an excellent water heater.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarbest0869
From: fremont
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
No, I do not recommend this product

reasonable price

PostedApril 14, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill
Cons: making unknown loud sound that last for few second
Price is very reasonable but the loud noise is something to consider.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarBob27
From: Sacramento
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good Product

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable
Overall installation went well. The connections on the top of the unit to hot and cold lines were tricky to seal the first time. Everything else was straight forward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarYANKELHERSH
From: LOS ANGELES
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

I had good experience with a similar Whirlpool product

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
This water heater is replacing a similar water heater with same 6 years warranty that lasted over 10 years, with the hope that it will do the same or better...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarWardie
From: Temecula
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Love the ignitor

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Installed easy had hot water within 20 minutes from start up. Unit went right in with little issues. Just installed tonight so I can't comment on energy savings or reliability.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarDan14
From: Los Angeles
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

All enclosed is nice feature

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
After reading the reviews this water heater was my choice. Now that it has been installed for one month, I have not experience any of the negative comments. For me I replaced gas valve, gas line, water valve and both water line with new flex lines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarwhale
From: Los Angeles
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Could not be easier

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
Had to replace the water heater. Went to Lowes. Bought the unit. Brought it home had it installed in less than two hours. We have hot water. Great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatargreat grandpa
From: Highland
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

easy to follow

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
this product and its instruction where easy to follow, had no problems at all. one of the easiest products to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarCarl31
From: Menifee, CA
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

Product meets my expections.

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Bought product at Lowe's. The installer from Lowe's was very professional - as he proceeded with installation he explained the important points and precautions to be observed. He was very professional and was easy to understand - should have no problem with the product. Lowe's price and quick installation took care of my concerns and questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRick
From: Bakersfield CA
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy Install

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: Easy to install, manual on/off pilot
The water heater was easy to install. I sure wish the nipples and other attachments were automatically in the purchase of the actual water heater itself and no other purchase or trip necessary to the store. Still too early to tell about the reliability since I just installed it two days ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarCCRay
From: Cathedral City
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good product, very quiet, heats fast.

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: needed 3/4 in. nipples to complete install.
I replaced an old unit from another brand with a Whirlpool but experienced a severe jet enginelike noise. Returned it to Lowe's and installed this one. It works great, as expected. I recommend it for a 4 person household. It was easy to install but should come with intake and discharge fittings, customer should not have to install them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarGG65
From: Riverside
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

This is a very nice product.

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
I am very pleased with this product. The design, quality and ease of use are excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSally
From: Dinuba
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product works great!!

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install, works great
This water heater works great, looks great and the contractor said that it was easy to install and the pilot light was easy to light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBoilerMaker
From: Fontana
Plumbing Expertise: Professional Plumber
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to hook up.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
I Needed a large capacity Water heater that would fit through a 20 1/2" opening, once through the opening the hard part of the install was done. The vent, plumbing and gas hook ups all went smoothly. The pilot lit right away and now have hot water again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next »>>