Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403

Whirlpool 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403

40 Gallon Tall Natural Gas Water Heater - 6 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.396 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(154 reviews) 154
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 154 reviews
5
81
4
57
3
14
2
0
1
2
149 out of 152(98%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Review 1 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSurfdog
From: Napa
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Good product for home use

PostedJanuary 26, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
Good product..Basically same model of 4 1/2 years ago different model number...Inner leak issue on previous model may have been due to city water quality(or lack there of) or earthquake of August 24. Unit was strapped in so no movement damage however surrounding City water mains broken resulting in alot of sediment..I had installed water sediment filter and drained twice yearly..As far as efficiency it is excellent. Can use on B setting or lower for the 2 of us with one bathroom 1100 sq ft home. Would have liked a more efficient model however SF Bay area Ultra Low Nox requirements required this unit...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarhottie
From: Hacienda heights
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

easy to install

PostedJanuary 24, 2016
Pros: Easy to install
the installation was simple and everything worked well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarfour runner
From: Southern Calif
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

great features

PostedJanuary 11, 2016
Pros: Reliable
we like the way it was easy to lite. Not like the old ones. Cannot hear it operate. No more crackle in the middle of the night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarkiki2
From: Hayward
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

good buy

PostedJanuary 7, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
great instructions. Pilot lighted quickly. So far we have hot water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarsmitty3434
From: antioch
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

reasonable price

PostedJanuary 5, 2016
Pros: Easy to install
no hassle installing it very easy took only two people to do it I think we will be very pleased with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarJeeper69
From: Indio
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

this product heating eleament is very fast compair to old heater

PostedDecember 31, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: not sure yet only been for a day
When I installed this heater wasn't expecting it to be so easy to install.on hot water when turning it on it only took about 10 seconds to get hot where on our old water heater we had to wait abou 2 to 5 min.for it to get hot.I will recamend this type to who ever ask.Iwill stick to whrilpool heaters insed of others brands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSamy
From: Avenal
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

It was very easy to install and fire up

PostedDecember 18, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable
When I got home from work, my wife had brought it from Low's hardware. I got it down from my pickup and installed it, then took a hot shower.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRich in Long Beach
From: Long Beach
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

easy to install

PostedDecember 11, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
easy to install by following instructions. hot water recovery time is fast. Seems to be economical to operate, but need more time to confirm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarButterballs
From: Bakersfield
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

This produce does have great features and was easy to install

PostedDecember 2, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
This produce does have great features and was easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
Yes, I recommend this product

Good water heater

PostedNovember 29, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Its a good water heater until the gas control valve/thermostat overheats and requires replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarPhil
From: Reseda
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Product has Very Good Features

PostedNovember 28, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
The water gets hot faster and per our Plumber was very easy to install. Only had a couple of days but so far like the unit very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarMaui Lisa
From: Walnut Creek
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy Install

PostedNovember 22, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
Installation was easy and it was hot in less than 15 minutes after start up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarfizz56
From: torrance
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

this item had a feature that really suprised me

PostedNovember 9, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
when I unpacked the water heater the outer burner door was not attached to the heater ,when I tried to attach it I realized why. it does not fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarlinda1949
From: Lodi
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Just got it and it works great

PostedOctober 28, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
Only complaint it does not qualify for PG&E rebate; needed Energy Factor .67 and this water heater is .62
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarglitter
From: Sacramento
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

looks good easy install

PostedOctober 12, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
Looks Good easy install had Son Inlaw install pro Plumber
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarandy51, good.
From: Canoga Park
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

product looks good

PostedOctober 9, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance
just installed, 10-04-2015, works very well, i'll wait and see.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarharley
From: Livermore
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

had great features

PostedSeptember 13, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
Was easy to install, but when to set temp couldn't find in directions what the abc was for
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarArleta1
From: Arleta
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Reiiable product. I replaced an older Whirlpool model.

PostedSeptember 13, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
Good looking heater, grey color with an electronic monitor device and code explanations on the monitor. User friendly. Very happy with the ease of installation. Nipples were installed at the top of the unit to attach water lines along with pressure release valve.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarPaul52
From: Sacramento
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

installation was quick and easy

PostedAugust 28, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
I needed to have this unit installed same day and Lowe's came through. The water heater seems to be of good quality and the installation took less than two hours. The contractor was
Courteous and knowledgeable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarA1 softball umpire
From: Bay Area
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

the control unit is very easy to understand

PostedAugust 22, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
this is the second Whirlpool water I have put in my duplex rental. Easy to install, easy to operate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next »>>