Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403

Whirlpool 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403

40 Gallon Tall Natural Gas Water Heater - 6 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.367 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 120 reviews
5
61
4
46
3
11
2
0
1
2
116 out of 119(97%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Review 1 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarWyatt Earp, Taft, Cal.
From: Taft
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This products does indded has good and easy features.

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
This water heater seems to be user friendly as far as lighting the pilot and seemed easier for the plumber to install. So far... So good. ~No Complaints..... YET` Still New!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarjgtb11
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install.

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
We've only had it a day but the unit was simple to install, it lit right up, had hot water in a half hour.
I will see if it lowers my energy bill and how reliable it will be.
So far I'm happy with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarK...Alice
From: Southern California
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great performance

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Looks clean and modern, easy to buy, easy to install and works as expected. It gives me hot water and I don't seem to ever run out of it. It's quiet while the gas is burning but it does make a loud humming noise for a few seconds each time the gas first fires on. Three people in the house!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarPaul
From: Los Angeles
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This water heater has great features.

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install, excellant choice
Everything about this water heater is excellant.
It has the latest technology. It looks gteat .
The cost of this heater is very affordable.
My friends highly recommended to buy this gas water heater.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarCB01
From: Lodi
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

It's a perfect water heater for just the right price.

PostedDecember 21, 2014
Pros: Reliable
Modern gas ignition system,simple push button pilot igniter, a slim design,allowing for easily accessed parts for installation and servicing. Thanks whirlpool!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarpot65
From: San Lorenzo
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

so far seems like a great product

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Pros: Reliable
very professional installer and very knowledgeble he took longer than I expected but did a great job. Had to go under the house and install drainage pipes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBig John
From: Stockton
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

This product was easy to install

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
I am the home owner and I was able to follow the instruction directions and install this water heater very easy. This save me a few hundred dollars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarestrada88
From: Los Angeles
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Up to this point this prodcuct is great

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: Raised my energy bill
This product is easy to instal and great, also its smaller and compact than my old one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarHOT WATER
From: MODESTO, CALIFORNIA
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

THIS PRODUCT HAS A GREAT LIGHTING MACHANISM

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
i WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ALL OF MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY REAL EASY TO INSTALL AND THE LIGHTING MECHANISM IS VERY EASY TO UNDERSTAND AND LIGHTING INSTRUCTION ARE REAL EASY TO FALLOW, IT LITT UP THE FIRST TIME.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: Norwalk
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to use

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: Unreliable
Easy to use in regards to the lighting of the pilot.
Like the feature electric gas control valve/thermostat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarMhar
From: Antioch
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product has simple feature easy to read status lights

PostedNovember 30, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance
This product has simple feature easy to read status lights. So far, water heater is quiet (after 3 hours so far).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarsmall spender
From: Los angeles
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

decent price for the money basic 40 gal heater

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
My water heater began leaking uncontrollably one night, and needed a budget replacement due to my financial constraints.
Unfortunately I live in california, so it costs a couple hundred more for a "california" model water heater. This model was the cheapest at all the major home improvement stores by about $40.
Install was a breeze (for never having installed a waterheater), and igniting was a non issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarChrisM1951
From: Bakersfield
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

**Made in the USA

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
It has legs and wasn't outsourced to another country. Keeps jobs here. Electronic Ignition. Purchased at Lowes. This model was only $2.00 higher in cost than the Rheem Brand 28 Gallon model sold at Home Depot? I have never had any issues with Whirlpool products and this seems to carry on the tradition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarsmmom
From: san mateo
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

you get value for money

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable
easy to use and understand. you get value for your money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarUthemanJ4
From: Hawthorne
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Pretty simple to install and operate

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
The operation is simple very. I was able to install wtihin 3 hours. My tenant was without water for a very short time. This is what made it, for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: Concord
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good Water Heater

PostedOctober 20, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
easy to install and the controls are simple and easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarlouie
From: san francisco
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

easy to install and light

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
very happy so far, the water heater it lit up the very first time and it is still on. Had a bad experience before with a Rheem water heater before because after installing it, it would not light up and had to uninstall it and return to store and install another one. So this whirlpool lit up right away on first try. However, heater nipples not included and had to buy separately at store
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarPAPA78
From: SF
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

GOOD LOOKING

PostedOctober 6, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Easy to install
EASY TO INSTALL,GREAT LIGHTING THE PILOT AND THE VENTING OUTLET
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarjordan79
From: Fremont
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

its been only 6 days and so far nocomplain

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance
I did not install the unit and don't know how easy or hard was for the contractor that install the unit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarSalg7
From: Cypress
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

This Product has great great features

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Easy to install
I really like this model and I recommend it to friends and family
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »>>