Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403

Whirlpool 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403

40 Gallon Tall Natural Gas Water Heater - 6 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.409 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(164 reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 164 reviews
5
87
4
61
3
14
2
0
1
2
159 out of 162(98%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Review 1 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBillyB
From: Berkeley
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

One night stand so far...

PostedApril 26, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
....but we may fall in love. Easy to install and lit up right off the bat. First time lighting worked fine without having to try to see the lit pilot light, which is always a problem for my older eyes. I have it on HOT and wouldn't want it any hotter, although there are A, B and C for even hotter temps. Time will tell on quality but it sure beats the one it replaced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarHandy Man Sal
From: Hemet
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Other
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install

PostedApril 14, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
This water heater was quick and easy to install. Pricing was average in my area. It was quick to turn on once gas and water lines were connected. Hot water was back in an hour or so, it was great to have hot water again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSuperMom
From: Oxnard
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

So far I am pleased with this product. If it lasts over the warranty period, I will be more pleased. I like having the hotter water sooner.

PostedApril 12, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
I have only had this water heater about 3 weeks, but so far I like it. We get hot water sooner and hotter than with our old water heater. If it lasts over the warranty period, I will be even more pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avataryodaone81
From: Sacramento
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product was recommended by a contractor

PostedMarch 31, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
Decided to purchase this from Lowe's because my contractor recommended it. He has never been wrong in all the 22 years I've Known him, so we went and purchased it and he installed it along with adding a drain pan, and earthquake straps that I didn't have before. It was so easy to install that he had it done in about 30 minutes. He had me read the instructions manual on starting it, had me do it, and made me read all the maintenance that I could do myself and walked me thru it all. Everything was very easy to understand after he showed me all the procedures. He even used a highlighter in the manual and wrote down a schedule for me to follow. He says this is a great product as long as I keep up with maintaining it properly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarHappy thanks to PG&E
From: United States
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

PG&E recommended

PostedMarch 27, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance, inataller agreed it's easy to install
This is a very nice hot water heater, I already recommended this to another person and they are happy with this unit also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarmancave#2
From: Rancho Mirage
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Available when needed, easy to install, quick to heat

PostedMarch 24, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
The need for a water heater wasn't pre-planned in this case. So being able to purchase the product at our Lowes store was a plus. The price was good too. Our contractor had no issues exchanging and hooking up the new tank. No issues igniting it either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarGary 53
From: Hemet
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Water heater

PostedMarch 15, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
Its a great product and works well. I would tell the next person who needs one to buy a Whirlpool water heater.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarElaine water heater
From: Santa Clarita
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

New LED light indicator on the heater to show it's working

PostedMarch 12, 2016
Pros: Appealing appearance
The little blue light on the thermostat is a nice feature to show it' working fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: Orange County
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good

PostedFebruary 19, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable
Easy Design to be unboxed.
slim design. better control unit as well as pilot system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarDoug9
From: Sun City
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Lighting it ouldn't be easier

PostedFebruary 10, 2016
Pros: Easy to install
Product came virtually "Ready to Use". I used an installation kit from the supplier (Lowe's) and it went very smoothly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSurfdog
From: Napa
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Good product for home use

PostedJanuary 26, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
Good product..Basically same model of 4 1/2 years ago different model number...Inner leak issue on previous model may have been due to city water quality(or lack there of) or earthquake of August 24. Unit was strapped in so no movement damage however surrounding City water mains broken resulting in alot of sediment..I had installed water sediment filter and drained twice yearly..As far as efficiency it is excellent. Can use on B setting or lower for the 2 of us with one bathroom 1100 sq ft home. Would have liked a more efficient model however SF Bay area Ultra Low Nox requirements required this unit...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarhottie
From: Hacienda heights
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

easy to install

PostedJanuary 24, 2016
Pros: Easy to install
the installation was simple and everything worked well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarfour runner
From: Southern Calif
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

great features

PostedJanuary 11, 2016
Pros: Reliable
we like the way it was easy to lite. Not like the old ones. Cannot hear it operate. No more crackle in the middle of the night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarkiki2
From: Hayward
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

good buy

PostedJanuary 7, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
great instructions. Pilot lighted quickly. So far we have hot water.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarsmitty3434
From: antioch
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

reasonable price

PostedJanuary 5, 2016
Pros: Easy to install
no hassle installing it very easy took only two people to do it I think we will be very pleased with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarJeeper69
From: Indio
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

this product heating eleament is very fast compair to old heater

PostedDecember 31, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: not sure yet only been for a day
When I installed this heater wasn't expecting it to be so easy to install.on hot water when turning it on it only took about 10 seconds to get hot where on our old water heater we had to wait abou 2 to 5 min.for it to get hot.I will recamend this type to who ever ask.Iwill stick to whrilpool heaters insed of others brands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSamy
From: Avenal
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

It was very easy to install and fire up

PostedDecember 18, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable
When I got home from work, my wife had brought it from Low's hardware. I got it down from my pickup and installed it, then took a hot shower.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRich in Long Beach
From: Long Beach
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

easy to install

PostedDecember 11, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
easy to install by following instructions. hot water recovery time is fast. Seems to be economical to operate, but need more time to confirm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarButterballs
From: Bakersfield
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

This produce does have great features and was easy to install

PostedDecember 2, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
This produce does have great features and was easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU40T61-403
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
Yes, I recommend this product

Good water heater

PostedNovember 29, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Its a good water heater until the gas control valve/thermostat overheats and requires replacement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next »>>