Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403

Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403

50 Gallon Tall Natural Gas Water Heater - 9 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.55 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5
24
4
14
3
2
2
0
1
0
38 out of 39(97%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Review 1 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBark
From: Suburban Chicago
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

Installed today. So far so good

PostedApril 6, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Easily installed. No problems. We'll see how it goes when we start running appliances and taking showers at the same time. We should be OK (we hope).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarmevvin
From: Southern California
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Average product

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Pros: average installation
Cons: no cons
Product was recommended by a friend, the store staff was fairly helpful in explaining the features. I was surprised to hear that the only difference between the 6 and 9 and 12 year warranty products was the warranty itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSPIFF-1963
From: Pasadena
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Big machine to install through a Hobbit Hole

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
Needed more hot water so we upgraded to 50 gallons from aging 40 gallon heater. Other than attic access through an upstairs closet, the heater installation went without issue. Pilot ignition came on quickly and unit is functioning well. Ready to enjoy a long hot shower.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarWalk17
From: Compton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great unit so far!!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
It will be 3 months in 10 days so I only have 2 months & 20 day to judge if this unit is a good one or a piece of junk.I can say it installed with no problems,Fired it up &
had enough hot water in less than an hour for bath & shower. Previous unit lasted 28 years. So this unit has a ways to go before I can rate it higher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarpete 1952
From: Denver
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good value for the money

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
I feel that this is a first class product from a first class company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBrian H
From: Bay Area
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Made in the USA

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
I bought this product because of the Whirlpool name and most importantly because it is made in the USA. Installed just like any other water heater, the control panel makes it easy to light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarpete
From: Artesia
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

thisproductbestfeature

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
i was using this product 40 gallon waterheatersince last10earswithou any problemandalsovery easy to handel istallatin i hopethisnew product willlast15 years whithout any problem like lastone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarcwhound
From: Northern California
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Very quiet

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Compared to my old water heater this model is very quiet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: Northern CA
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did

NA

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
Easy to Install
If you want people to do this survey, I suggest you remove the minimum text requirement!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarjohn
From: saint charles
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

easy to install

PostedJune 8, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
great unit, is as advertised, fit existing unit without major adjustments
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: Colorado Springs
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install

PostedMay 27, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
Got a agreat deal on this water heater. Replaced a GE that only lasted 3 years. Like the new control box. No need to use a match to light pilot. Started up the first time I tried to lite it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLaurie1
From: Whittier
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Great features

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
I liked my new water heater. It was thinner and tall and easy to install. Heated the water very fast. Very happy customer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: San Jose, CA
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Works fine so far except for the drain valve.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
The design of the drain valve is terrible and there are no instructions on how to work it. The outer ring looks to be the thing to turn but isn't. There is no mention that this is a ball type valve and to be operated by using a screw driver.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarDELI4495
From: SAINT JOHN
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Yes, I recommend this product

GREAT PRODUCT FEATURES

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
EASY TO INSTALL,RUNS GREAT,WATER WAS SET A LITTLE TO HOT,WENT BACKTO FACTORY SETTINGS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatartpv1942
From: davison, michigan
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

i really like this heater, good recovery time

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
this heater look good, nice lines and well made, and is also very functional. i would make this purchase again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarksully1955
From: Whittier
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

yes

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
this product works great know complaints just wish it wasn't so expensive but its a great product just like the rest of whirlpools products thank for making such a great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarconnecticut yankee
From: Pflugerville
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Ease of installation and use.

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Simple install except it takes two to move in place. To be expected because of weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJunior1
From: Los Angeles
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product appears to work very well so far; only been installed a couple of weeks. It has all the features I want.

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
So far this seems to be a very good product. It's quiet and heats the water to a more than adequate temperature, even though I am aware of being able to manually regulate the temperature. I've only had this product for two weeks. I especially like the fact this product is made in the USA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarDano007
From: Shawnee KS.
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy installation, nice unit

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: inlets very deeply set need extensions
This product does an excellent job in my home, was a fairly easy install. When I brought the product home however, the top had been crushed at the factory so I had to return to store. Inlet and outlet are fairly deep set so extension need to fasten pipes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBob185
From: Orange, CA
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Great value compared to others and smaller models.

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: Easy to install, good value
Had a 40 gallon heater and replaced with this 50 gallon of the same dimensions as old. Install went fast with same tank dimensions. Thought rating would be lower due to less insulation, but compares okay. Family likes having more hot water.
Too soon to tell if there is an operation cost difference.
I like the ignition button and status panel on this model. Looked at others without similar features that cost more.
So far very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next »>>