Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403

Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403

50 Gallon Tall Natural Gas Water Heater - 9 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5
26
4
17
3
3
2
0
1
0
44 out of 45(98%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Review 1 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: suisun city
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

quiet

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
easy to install. received hot water quickly after installation. very quiet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarWhirlpool
From: Hemet
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Like the way it lights up

PostedJune 7, 2015
Pros: Reliable
Getting used to the pilot is not accessible by door. only through window. I like that. Its starts differently from the old one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarfluffy602
From: Acton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Whirlpool water heater product does not have a good track record for us.

PostedMay 29, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
We are replacing another Whirlpool water heater which we had many problems with the thermal control and pilot light unit. These both had to be replaced twice, once by a plumber and once by myself .
The previous water heater we had such difficulty with:
Model # BFG1H5040T3N0V
Serial# 0817T402089
Product# 0733144
Due to measurement constraints we were forced to stay with Whirlpool following researching other products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarlarry
From: Beaver
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

very easy to install

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
The hardest part about installing this was draining the old tank.
I had it heating water within an hour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarBIRDMAN
From: FAIRMONT
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

EASY TO INSTALL AND LIGHT

PostedMay 21, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
EASY TO INSTALL AND LIGHT. GOOD BALANCE AND EASY TO REACH FEATURES. A LITTLE PRICEY
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarRick73
From: Lemoore, Ca.
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

I especially liked the new electronic lighting system!

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance, have to wait and see...
Time will tell how this heater performs... I read the reviews online and chose Whirlpool over Kenmore hands down! Sears is going down the tubes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBark
From: Suburban Chicago
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

Installed today. So far so good

PostedApril 6, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Easily installed. No problems. We'll see how it goes when we start running appliances and taking showers at the same time. We should be OK (we hope).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarmevvin
From: Southern California
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Average product

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Pros: average installation
Cons: no cons
Product was recommended by a friend, the store staff was fairly helpful in explaining the features. I was surprised to hear that the only difference between the 6 and 9 and 12 year warranty products was the warranty itself.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSPIFF-1963
From: Pasadena
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Big machine to install through a Hobbit Hole

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
Needed more hot water so we upgraded to 50 gallons from aging 40 gallon heater. Other than attic access through an upstairs closet, the heater installation went without issue. Pilot ignition came on quickly and unit is functioning well. Ready to enjoy a long hot shower.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarWalk17
From: Compton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great unit so far!!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
It will be 3 months in 10 days so I only have 2 months & 20 day to judge if this unit is a good one or a piece of junk.I can say it installed with no problems,Fired it up &
had enough hot water in less than an hour for bath & shower. Previous unit lasted 28 years. So this unit has a ways to go before I can rate it higher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarpete 1952
From: Denver
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good value for the money

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
I feel that this is a first class product from a first class company.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBrian H
From: Bay Area
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Made in the USA

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
I bought this product because of the Whirlpool name and most importantly because it is made in the USA. Installed just like any other water heater, the control panel makes it easy to light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarpete
From: Artesia
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

thisproductbestfeature

PostedNovember 26, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
i was using this product 40 gallon waterheatersince last10earswithou any problemandalsovery easy to handel istallatin i hopethisnew product willlast15 years whithout any problem like lastone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarcwhound
From: Northern California
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Very quiet

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Compared to my old water heater this model is very quiet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: Northern CA
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did

NA

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
Easy to Install
If you want people to do this survey, I suggest you remove the minimum text requirement!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarjohn
From: saint charles
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

easy to install

PostedJune 8, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
great unit, is as advertised, fit existing unit without major adjustments
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: Colorado Springs
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install

PostedMay 27, 2014
Pros: Easy to install
Got a agreat deal on this water heater. Replaced a GE that only lasted 3 years. Like the new control box. No need to use a match to light pilot. Started up the first time I tried to lite it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLaurie1
From: Whittier
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Great features

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
I liked my new water heater. It was thinner and tall and easy to install. Heated the water very fast. Very happy customer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: San Jose, CA
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Works fine so far except for the drain valve.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
The design of the drain valve is terrible and there are no instructions on how to work it. The outer ring looks to be the thing to turn but isn't. There is no mention that this is a ball type valve and to be operated by using a screw driver.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarDELI4495
From: SAINT JOHN
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Yes, I recommend this product

GREAT PRODUCT FEATURES

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
EASY TO INSTALL,RUNS GREAT,WATER WAS SET A LITTLE TO HOT,WENT BACKTO FACTORY SETTINGS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next »>>