Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403

Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403

50 Gallon Tall Natural Gas Water Heater - 9 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.518 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5
33
4
19
3
4
2
0
1
0
54 out of 55(98%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Review 1 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarIzzy
From: menifee
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Heats up great

PostedJanuary 15, 2016
Pros: Easy to install
This water heater was easy to install no complications , initially the water heated up rapidly and maintains the water heated just perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: Huntington Beach
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Always trust Whirlpool products

PostedJanuary 12, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
I read the previous reviews, and glad I did. This is great water heater! Went from a 40 gal, to a 50, and we never run out of hot water with a family of 4.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar2xpensv
From: West Covina
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product was easy to install

PostedJanuary 2, 2016
Pros: Easy to install
Just recently had to replace my water heater. I found this one to have a good warranty for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarRDB777
From: Inland Empire
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good features for a gas water heater

PostedDecember 19, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
was easy to install, directions were easy to follow, made the job quick and easy.Pretty straight forward.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarnomei48
From: Gig Harbor
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

nice unit

PostedDecember 2, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
easy install , great directions. pilot light startup within 30 seconds. No leaks of water or gas. air filter is a good idea.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: West Sacramento
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

GOOD PRODUCT

PostedDecember 2, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
Whirlpool looking everything (people's choice, Easy installation,
Energy consumption, Good appearance etc.) before introduce to
the market.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarGood product
From: Utica
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Fit perfectly. Fairly simple to install.

PostedNovember 4, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable
Good quality. Replaces 12 year old Whirlpool 40-gallon heater that stopped working. Went with 50-galon as need more hot water. Fit perfectly. Fairly simple to install.
So far very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarRedback236
From: Los Altos
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Heats water incredibly fast

PostedOctober 11, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill
Good quality. Replaces 8 year old Kenmore 50 gallon that developed pin hole in bottom of heater. Fit perfectly, and even the plumber was amazed at how fast hot water came from tap after starting pilot light.
Still a bit early, only 3 weeks after install, but so far very please
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarpaul13
From: Near Sacramento, Ca.
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

Haven't had hot water heater a long time, so for GOOD

PostedOctober 8, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
Haven't used the hot water heater a period of time yet, to suggest to anyone as of it quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: suisun city
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

quiet

PostedAugust 3, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
easy to install. received hot water quickly after installation. very quiet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarjohn123
From: Torrance
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

seems ok

PostedSeptember 2, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
Fairly simple to install. There are some blue plastic pieces in the inlets that are not mentioned in the manual. The only flaw is a slight noise that lasts for about 15 seconds when the burner fires up. Not sure if this is standard in all new water heaters. Usually water heaters are out of earshot, so not a big deal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarWhirlpool
From: Hemet
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Like the way it lights up

PostedJune 7, 2015
Pros: Reliable
Getting used to the pilot is not accessible by door. only through window. I like that. Its starts differently from the old one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarfluffy602
From: Acton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Whirlpool water heater product does not have a good track record for us.

PostedMay 29, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
We are replacing another Whirlpool water heater which we had many problems with the thermal control and pilot light unit. These both had to be replaced twice, once by a plumber and once by myself .
The previous water heater we had such difficulty with:
Model # BFG1H5040T3N0V
Serial# 0817T402089
Product# 0733144
Due to measurement constraints we were forced to stay with Whirlpool following researching other products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarlarry
From: Beaver
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

very easy to install

PostedJuly 11, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
The hardest part about installing this was draining the old tank.
I had it heating water within an hour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarBIRDMAN
From: FAIRMONT
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

EASY TO INSTALL AND LIGHT

PostedMay 21, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
EASY TO INSTALL AND LIGHT. GOOD BALANCE AND EASY TO REACH FEATURES. A LITTLE PRICEY
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarRick73
From: Lemoore, Ca.
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

I especially liked the new electronic lighting system!

PostedJuly 4, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance, have to wait and see...
Time will tell how this heater performs... I read the reviews online and chose Whirlpool over Kenmore hands down! Sears is going down the tubes!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBark
From: Suburban Chicago
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

Installed today. So far so good

PostedApril 6, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Easily installed. No problems. We'll see how it goes when we start running appliances and taking showers at the same time. We should be OK (we hope).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Customer avatarmevvin
From: Southern California
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Average product

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Pros: average installation
Cons: no cons
Product was recommended by a friend, the store staff was fairly helpful in explaining the features. I was surprised to hear that the only difference between the 6 and 9 and 12 year warranty products was the warranty itself.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarSPIFF-1963
From: Pasadena
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Big machine to install through a Hobbit Hole

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Pros: Reliable, Easy to install
Needed more hot water so we upgraded to 50 gallons from aging 40 gallon heater. Other than attic access through an upstairs closet, the heater installation went without issue. Pilot ignition came on quickly and unit is functioning well. Ready to enjoy a long hot shower.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarWalk17
From: Compton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great unit so far!!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
It will be 3 months in 10 days so I only have 2 months & 20 day to judge if this unit is a good one or a piece of junk.I can say it installed with no problems,Fired it up &
had enough hot water in less than an hour for bath & shower. Previous unit lasted 28 years. So this unit has a ways to go before I can rate it higher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 Next »>>