Whirlpool Water Heaters Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403

Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403

50 Gallon Tall Natural Gas Water Heater - 9 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.586 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5
18
4
10
3
1
2
0
1
0
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Review 1 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarLaurie1
From: Whittier
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Great features

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
I liked my new water heater. It was thinner and tall and easy to install. Heated the water very fast. Very happy customer
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarAnonymous
From: San Jose, CA
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Works fine so far except for the drain valve.

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
The design of the drain valve is terrible and there are no instructions on how to work it. The outer ring looks to be the thing to turn but isn't. There is no mention that this is a ball type valve and to be operated by using a screw driver.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarDELI4495
From: SAINT JOHN
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Yes, I recommend this product

GREAT PRODUCT FEATURES

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
EASY TO INSTALL,RUNS GREAT,WATER WAS SET A LITTLE TO HOT,WENT BACKTO FACTORY SETTINGS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatartpv1942
From: davison, michigan
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

i really like this heater, good recovery time

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
this heater look good, nice lines and well made, and is also very functional. i would make this purchase again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarksully1955
From: Whittier
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

yes

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
this product works great know complaints just wish it wasn't so expensive but its a great product just like the rest of whirlpools products thank for making such a great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarconnecticut yankee
From: Pflugerville
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Ease of installation and use.

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Simple install except it takes two to move in place. To be expected because of weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJunior1
From: Los Angeles
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product appears to work very well so far; only been installed a couple of weeks. It has all the features I want.

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
So far this seems to be a very good product. It's quiet and heats the water to a more than adequate temperature, even though I am aware of being able to manually regulate the temperature. I've only had this product for two weeks. I especially like the fact this product is made in the USA.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarDano007
From: Shawnee KS.
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy installation, nice unit

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: inlets very deeply set need extensions
This product does an excellent job in my home, was a fairly easy install. When I brought the product home however, the top had been crushed at the factory so I had to return to store. Inlet and outlet are fairly deep set so extension need to fasten pipes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBob185
From: Orange, CA
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Great value compared to others and smaller models.

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: Easy to install, good value
Had a 40 gallon heater and replaced with this 50 gallon of the same dimensions as old. Install went fast with same tank dimensions. Thought rating would be lower due to less insulation, but compares okay. Family likes having more hot water.
Too soon to tell if there is an operation cost difference.
I like the ignition button and status panel on this model. Looked at others without similar features that cost more.
So far very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarBCW in Desert
From: Coachella Valley
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great Quality and Easy to Install

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: tank drain too close to controller
Just installed, working very well. Tank heated up very quickly. Nice controller unit makes pilot lighting very easy. Only drawback is the tank drain is VERY close to the controller, making it difficult to get to and operate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarrallster38
From: Westminster
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product had all of the latest features, and is easy to maintain and operate.

PostedJune 28, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
We've only had this product installed for two day, and already the operation is quiet and effiient. We have a relatively large home, with some bathrooms located quite a distance from the water heater, but the hot water is delivered within a reasonable time, and meets personal expectations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarrordog
From: Meridian
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install

PostedMay 14, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Just installed today. Surprised how ease it was and started on first try.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarjuanello
From: Albuquerque
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Installation & ease of set up

PostedMay 14, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
I chose this water heater at Lowes because of the research I did on the product and its features. I liked the ease of starting the unit with the electronic controls rather than manually lighting the pilot the old way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatardiy1
From: Modesto
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

buy the install kit

PostedApril 15, 2013
Pros: Easy to install
if you plan to install DIY buy the install kit it will save you trips to home improvement center
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarJiminDP
From: Dana Point
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

nice and easy

PostedApril 5, 2013
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Easy to install
easy to install and looks very nice electric start
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarCUMI
From: SAN JOSE
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

THIS WATER HEATHER HAS NEW TECHNOLOGY

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: Easy to install
Purchase Date: 12/29/2012
GOOD PRODUCT QUIT INSTALL, QUIET, PILOT LIGHT SET UP EASE. NO GAS SMELL, INDICATOR LIGHT TRACKING STATUS, I'M VERY CONFIDENT WITH THIS PRODUCT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarRayjk
From: San Francisco
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

This product is working great

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable
Purchase Date: 01/24/2013
This product is working great, and have a fair price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarHOTROD NOVA
From: OXNARD
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

THIS WAS MY THIRD WATER HEATER TO INSTALL AND INSTALLATION WAS VERY EASY.

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 01/12/2011
EASY INSTALLATION, ENERGY SAVING AND GOOD COST FOR THE PRODUCT.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatarskin951
From: riverside
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

easy to install.

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: bulky
Purchase Date: 12/17/2012
product was easy to install and straight forward and pilot was lit with ease.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T91-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatarNotaplumber
From: Parker
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Pros: Easy to install, advanced gas control
Purchase Date: 10/20/2012
Replaced 20 year old water heater with this new Whirlpooo unit. It was easy to install as a direct replacement. All connections lined up with the vent, water and gas lines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 Next »>>