Customer reviews for Whirlpool 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D

Whirlpool 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D

40 Gallon Energy Smart Electric Water Heater - 12 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.703 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(276 reviews) 276
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 276 reviews
5
209
4
54
3
12
2
0
1
1
263 out of 269(98%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Review 1 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Cape Coral
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good product energy saving

PostedApril 12, 2018
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
This water heater has been installed since 2013 for 5 years now, yes you have to replace the anode rod in them. That is a normal maintenance item as it sacrifices itself to protect the other components of the water heater. We replace ours every year and it needs it every year. We are on city water.
This water heater has performed well, I did have to replace the pressure relief valve at the five year mark but this is another maintenance item that over time will corrode and need replacement.
Over all this water heater saves energy and has performed well for us.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Glens Falls
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
No, I do not recommend this product

Anode needed replacement in under 3 years

PostedFebruary 25, 2018
Cons: Raised my energy bill, Unreliable
I had this hot water heater for less than 3 years and already the anode needs to be replaced. Unfortunately, the problem is that this is considered a maintenance issue and not warranty related. The bigger problem is if the plumber can't get it out to replace it then the whole unit will have to be replaced. In addition, the top of the unit has developed an impression. I have an appointment with the plumber this week but I hope the indent that developed in the top of the unit isn't an indication that the whole unit is collapsing from within.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: New Bedford
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Designed, Engineered and assembled in the USA, enough said

PostedAugust 3, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Reliable
to early to give a full review but it speaks and looks quality, I know quality when I see it and this is it and they back it up with a great warranty, Designed, Engineered and assembled in the USA, enough said.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Millville
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

This product has great features

PostedMarch 13, 2017
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
I just installed my new water heater, the installation went without any problems, and I am hoping that it will lower my energy bill.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: north carolina
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Just installed but better than one it replaced

PostedFebruary 4, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, vacation swith electronic control
Waited 2 weeks for delivery. When unpacked it was found to be dented-small dent front upper rim, small dent a few inches below, and larger 8-10 long dent on right side. Due to old water heater's functioning, installer completed install and all seems to be working. Will contact Lowe's about dents. I like the easy vacation setting.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Grayson
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

This product is very efficient

PostedJanuary 7, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
Mother-in-law's water heater was on it's last leg. We wanted a high-efficientcy water heater with a really good warranty. We found one in the Whirlpool ES40R12-55 100 we found on-line at Lowes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Canton
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Nice water heater

PostedDecember 9, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable
Replaced a gas water heater with this one it was an easy install no problems and seems to work very well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Boca Raton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

More than I expected

PostedNovember 6, 2016
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Lots of potentially viable features I must learn to use. The wireless interfate is a plus. My only complaint was the side mounted, downward pointing, pressure relief value. Most older units have a top mounted, side facing valve and plumbing to match. I'll have a hard time routing a hose back up to the top where my overflow line is.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: New Fairfield
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

This Water Heater has great features

PostedOctober 26, 2016
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
I picked the Whirlpool Energy Smart features were key to me purchasing this Water Heater.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Maryville
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Pleased

PostedAugust 28, 2016
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Reliable
Have no complaints, it maintains the heat with the amount of usage with the number of family members and with teenagers that like to take long showers for some reason
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Mountlake Terrace
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Initial evaluation

PostedJuly 30, 2016
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
This unit was easy to install. I like the fact that water supply nipples were installed at the factory.
There was one curious observation, however. I did a thermal image scan of the water heater, feed lines, TPRV, and electrical feed to note hot spots to be insulated. Approx. 120 degrees from the TPRV I noticed a higher temperature band about 1-2" in width running from the top of the water heater to within 6" from the bottom.
Is this due to missing insulation or is there something else going on? Your input will be appreciated.
Ron
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Walnutport
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This is a well built hot water heater

PostedSeptember 1, 2016
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
The hot water heater came undamaged and was very well designed. The plumber remarked that it was easy to install and the temperature could be easily adjusted. Overall, I am pleased with this product and would recommend it to my friends.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Hagerstown
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product has great features

PostedMay 2, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
Still very new, but so far so good! Like the color, never liked a white one! Anxious to see if our electric goes down!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Glendale
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to operate, has wi-fi controller capability

PostedJanuary 13, 2016
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance, wi-fi capable
Excellent water heater with easy to use controls. Iris by Lowes offers an optional Wi-Fi controller to allow programming and adjustments from your phone or computer. I would buy this again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: 1217 Lewis Avenue
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Looks like a very quality appliance

PostedDecember 17, 2015
Pros: Reliable, Appealing appearance
It has just been installed and works great! I'm looking forward to years of dependable service, which is why I purchased a Whrilpool, rather than the competing brand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Naples
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install!

PostedJanuary 7, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
Like the looks as well as ease of operation. I am hoping for my electric bill to reduce as well.I installed this unit in under 4 hours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: San Joaquin Valley
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Digital interface with variety of modes is appealing

PostedDecember 30, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
Nice, thin (22"), light (108lbs) tank. Clear instructions. Tank has 3" of insulation built in. Energy Smart Module sold me on this model. I went for the 12yr guarantee b/c they usually use better materials the higher the guarantee. Only negative is you have to take the Smart Grid cover off if you want to do a perfect wire job (Smart Grid cover holds one side of the wire-cover plate down; I took it off to attach the conduit nut underneath the plate for a good wire job). This isn't a big negative; just adds five minutes to the job. Just installed today; let's see how how it goes; I'm expecting 12-15yrs trouble free, energy efficient, hot water.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Harker Heights
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Other
Yes, I recommend this product

Excellent product for the money.

PostedDecember 29, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, features
I like the Economy, Standard and Vacation modes which allow for energy savings. Easy and simple controls as well as nice looking unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Springfield Missouri
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Love the led read out on the unit

PostedNovember 1, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance, digital temp read out
Easy to install and hook up. Set the temp and you are good to go.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 40 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES40R123-45D
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: fort myers , Fl.
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

So far I like it

PostedOctober 30, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance
It is a lot different then my old water heater .I'll see if it saves on my elec. bill .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next »>>