Customer reviews for Whirlpool 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D

Whirlpool 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D

50 Gallon Energy Smart Electric Water Heater - 12 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.633 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(901 reviews) 901
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 901 reviews
5
634
4
216
3
42
2
5
1
4
864 out of 884(98%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Review 1 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Phoenix
No, I do not recommend this product

POOR QUALITY

PostedFebruary 18, 2019
Cons: Unreliable
2nd Unit broken in a little over 2 years. Go a different brand! .
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: reno
Plumbing Expertise: Professional Plumber
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

16 years and still working

PostedFebruary 9, 2019
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
I have had this tank for going on 16 years and it still works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Gaithersburg
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
No, I do not recommend this product

Heating element corroded within one year

PostedApril 12, 2018
Cons: Unreliable
I had the heater installed spring of 2017. By the end of the year it was obvious it wasn't heating effectively. A local plumber removed and replaced a corroded heating element. The total bill was $350. The reimbursement was only for $100. Whirlpool did not stand behind the product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Phoenix
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Just Installed

PostedApril 17, 2017
Pros: install was easy
Install was easy, I hope it works as well as my last one. It lasted for 21 years and expired on Easter Day. Thankfully I had already ordered and received this new one, so I was ready to have it installed. Too early to give an honest review beyond install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

So Far So Good...??

PostedMarch 9, 2017
Well not like I have tons of experience with water heaters but this is the first one I've had to purchase as a homeowner, and so far so good I guess? I did take off 1 star because it seems to take a lot longer than my old one to get the water hot, at least from the kitchen faucet. Not sure if proximity matters but I have a very small house and the water heater is in an exterior closet directly on the other side of the kitchen wall. Had it 2 months tomorrow, so a little early to tell if it will be problematic later down the road.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Nice hot water heater!

PostedMarch 5, 2017
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable
This is our second Whirlpool water heater. The first one was taken out of service when this one was installed just yesterday. The first one made it 14 years and was working when we took it out of service! Hope to get this kind of service out of this new one. Too early to tell really but install was smooth, start up fine. Supplying hot water without a blip. The manual is written clearly. Improvements are the enclosed circuitry and a digital touch screen. The older model had circuit board on the top of the tank and was more susceptible to dust and debris, I believe. There are some other bells and whistles like grid control that I'm not really that interested in right now, but overall whirlpool has served us well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Boston
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great product

PostedJanuary 8, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: needs 30 amp circuit
Ultra Easy installation, even converting from a forced vent gas unit ($2,300 for a replacement gas unit with only 5 year warranty made converting to electric an easy decision)
Produces a lot of hot water right at start up from the top heating element.
When operating in normal mode it makes plentiful hot water on demand at the set point without waiting.
In economy ("learning ") mode, it's kind of funky. It makes plenty of hot water, but only seems to reach the set point slowly after running it for demand and waiting.
I keep it at 145 in economic mode and it's fine for my wife and I alone, and I don't notice any substantial change in my electric bill.
When the kids come home to visit I bump it to 150 degrees in normal mode and no one complains, even taking 5 showers in the morning.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Lynn Haven
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Working great so far!

PostedJanuary 2, 2017
The one that came with my house was getting pretty old and didn't provide enough hot water for my wife and I to take showers back to back. We upgraded to this one and have been enjoying it. The touch panel on the front makes it easy to raise the temperature so we bumped it up to 140 rather than the factory preset of 120. Haven't had an issue yet with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product

Great features and easy to install

PostedDecember 30, 2016
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
The water heater was very easy to install. Control panel was easy to read. Love that it has a vacation setting and adjusts to our needs once a pattern can be determined.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Marshfield
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Right size, right price, proven perfomer.

PostedDecember 8, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
I had the first generation of this model for 13 years without a single problem. Have to stick with a quality product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Tallahassee, Fl.
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Awesome so far!

PostedNovember 19, 2016
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: a bit pricey
Excellent heater so far. Had to wait for 3 weeks due to local Lowes stores do not stock the 12 year models - only the nine year models. Went in with zero issues. Hot water shortly there after. Get one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Bolckow
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

This product has a great warrenty.

PostedOctober 26, 2016
Pros: Easy to install
This heater was easy to install with easy to follow instructions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Richmond
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great product at a reasonable price with a great warranty.

PostedOctober 26, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, great warranty, reasonable price, detailed installation / user guide
The ES50R12-55 water heater is a great product with a 12 year warranty at a very reasonable price. The installation is very straight forward and the Installation Instructions and Use and Care Guide is both detailed and well written. The Operating Mode options provide usage situation flexibility and energy efficiency.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Pontiac
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to operate and understand.

PostedOctober 13, 2016
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Very easy to install and use. Controls are very easy to read and understand. So far so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Houma
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Delayed Water Heater

PostedSeptember 29, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable
I enjoyed the previous whirlpool water heater that is why I purchased this one. The problem is that it went out unexpectedly and I had to wait 2 weeks for delivery. The first one we purchased off the shelf @ Lowe's and this 12 yr unit was special order. I though surely there would be one in a warehouse somewhere. Not fond of cold showers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Pendleton
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

great features

PostedSeptember 29, 2016
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Everything I wanted. Size for space allowed was perfect. Height matched my preexisting water heater. easy to install
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Maineville
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Great Product

PostedAugust 10, 2016
Pros: Reliable
Cons: Difficult to install
I had the previous 12 year energy smart water heater. No issues during the entire life of the product. I did buy another due to the exceptionally hard water in the area. Upon installation, I wish the smart panel was on top and not in relationship to the upper element. Also, electrical install would have been easier for the plumber if it was similar to the older model.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Kansas City
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great product Great Price

PostedJuly 9, 2016
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Has been installed for about a month now. Not sure how the energy savings will be yet. It was easy to install and had all the necessary instruction. Made hot water quick and so far haven't run out yet. Of course we will have to wait to see how the longevity is. Couldn't beat the price. Only about a 25 dollar difference from the 9 year warranty to the 12 year warranty. Purchased at Lowe's. Had to special order. They didn't keep this model in stock. Of course they had the 9 year model but like I said for the cost difference its a no brainer so ordered the 12 year.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Conway
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install, quite, fast, and works great.

PostedJuly 3, 2016
Pros: Easy to install
Professionally installed, took longer to drain old heater and bring things up to code then to install unit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50 Gallon Electric Water Heater - ES50R123-45D
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Lubbock
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Haven't had it very long, but so far very impressed.

PostedJune 15, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
Cons: Raised my energy bill
We haven't had this water heater very long, but so far we love it. The features are great and the quality is far superior to our last water heater. So easy to install. This water heater did raise our energy bill, but not by an unreasonable amount.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 46 Next »>>