Customer reviews for Whirlpool 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343

Whirlpool 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343

40 Gallon Tall Natural Gas Water Heater - 6 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.391 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(815 reviews) 815
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 815 reviews
5
444
4
277
3
73
2
11
1
10
762 out of 797(96%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Review 1 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Houston
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Outstanding Value

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Appealing appearance, Reliable, Easy to install
Purchase Date: 11/22/2011
Our old hot water heater was on its last legs and I was afraid of it failing. It was not a Whirlpool and it came with the house when I bought the house. I went to the store and bought a 40G natural gas water heater with a 6 year warranty on it from Whirlpool. I stand by Whirlpool products 100%. Upon bringing it home and getting ready to set it up I discovered that not only did Whirlpool include a user's manual they included a sort of "quick start" guide to cover the basics in full color. Outstanding! The install was so easy it was unbelievable. Attach the nipples and the new flexible water lines. Connect the exhaust and then the gas line. Fill the tank. Bleed the air from the line via the kitchen sink and then light the pilot. It was so easy that even a caveman could do it! Whirlpool had outstanding directions, hints, and things to look out for in the manual. Even the directions for lighting the pilot and adjusting the temps on the new 6th Sense controls was spot on. I love the peace of mind I now have from my new Whirlpool hot water heater.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Illinois
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
No, I do not recommend this product

NOT happy wiht it at all.

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
Cons: Unreliable
I have had to replace the same 2 parts on it several times. I will NOT buy another Whirlpool product again.. I have had SEVERAL problems with it for the last couple of years... NOT happy with it at all...
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Wichita
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

This hot water tank works great.

PostedJanuary 12, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
I have enjoyed this hot water tank and it keeps hot water streaming through my entire house wonderfully. I would recommend it to others as a great buy and lasting impression.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Marshall
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

The product is very efficient.

PostedJanuary 4, 2016
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
Whirlpool has always been a brand I associate with quality and a good reputation. The unit is very nice looking. Everything on the unit is easy to locate and read. My friends who installed the unit are not plumbers but they have installed many hot water heaters in their lives and they said that this unit was easy to install. It only took them about an hour to install it and that was them taking out the old unit as well. So far, I am very happy with the performance of this unit and am anxious to get my first gas bill to compare the costs.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product

just had it installed. its heating the water, good.

PostedDecember 30, 2015
just had it installed. its heating the water, good.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Houston
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Awesome

PostedDecember 28, 2015
Pros: Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
Cons: Difficult to install
excellent water heater, would recommend for anyone trying to look for an affordable one for them and their families!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: El Paso
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

This product works incredibly great

PostedDecember 14, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Appealing appearance, easy to ignite
Everything is great with the water heater, never gave me any type of problems related with speed of heating water or noises. Very easy to install and even easier to start. I would definitely recommend it and without a doubt, I would purchase another one if required.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
Yes, I recommend this product

Like the new controls

PostedDecember 2, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill
Like the controls and love the EZ light pilot light. Good quality and easy to install.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: AMARILLO
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH THIS PRDOUCT

PostedNovember 3, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
WE LOVE THIS WATER HEATER, WE HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH IT AND WORKS VERY WELL.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: phoenix
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

this product has great value

PostedOctober 19, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
the new electric starter it is not like the old ones that's for sure
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Winterville
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
No, I do not recommend this product

not a quality product

PostedOctober 14, 2015
Cons: Unreliable
This water heater has a habit of letting the pilot light go out and it is a pain in the rear to relight. This is a very bad design. I will never purchase a whirlpool product again.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Ann Arbor
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
No, I do not recommend this product

Quality let me down

PostedSeptember 27, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: Unreliable
Purchased in Dec. '11. Acting up now, overheating, suspect thermostat/gas valve. Anode rod cleaned and unit drained on regular basis. Relief valve now leaks also. 5yrs. old, and now failing. All my old waterheaters lasted at least 15yrs. Guess quality has suffered. Now have to go through hassle of warranty claim and lost time from work on waiting for tech to show up. Always try to buy American, but this one tries my patience. Dissatisfied. Next time, it'll be a different brand.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Norristown
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Product is very good

PostedSeptember 19, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable, Appealing appearance
Very satisfied with this product. Easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Franklin, In
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Ease of install

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
This product was very easy to in stall by myself and a friend. The instructions Were easy to read and talked thru the install without needing a Plumber.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Indianapolis
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

I like the electronic pilot light and the flashing indicator light.

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
The install by the contractor was quick and easy. He explained everything that I needed to know.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Helena
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Fast hot water recovery

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Pros: Easy to install
I'm highly impressed with this products speed and ease in hot water recovery. The temperature control system is very user friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Atlanta
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great replacement water heater

PostedJune 26, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance, includes base filter, includes (2) 3/4" pipe insulation
Economical 40 gallon gas tall water heater - easy to install. Includes filter around bottom of water heater to keep out dust.
Also includes two 3/4" hot/cold water pipe insulation tubes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: plymouth
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

this is a very nice looking heater and has great features

PostedJune 25, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable, Appealing appearance
for the price u can't beat it!!! and it does have great features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Indianapolis
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

It heats fast

PostedJune 19, 2015
Pros: Reliable, Appealing appearance
It was a struggle with the old water heater to get hot water to the back of the house. With this water heater it takes no time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 40 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - N40T61-343
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Atlanta
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

ease of lighting and good source of hot water

PostedJune 9, 2015
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable
works as advertised, not to hard to install, neat appearance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 41 Next »>>