Customer reviews for Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403

Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403

50 Gallon Tall Energy Efficient Natural Gas Water Heater - 12 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.56 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(636 reviews) 636
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 636 reviews
5
423
4
176
3
21
2
2
1
14
606 out of 626(97%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Review 1 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Rochester
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Love the 50 Gallon!

PostedMay 18, 2019
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable
I love this larger capacity heater. It fills my deep whirlpool tub without cooling off!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: South Jersey
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great Price and 10 year Guarantee.

PostedMay 17, 2019
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
I Installed this unit in less than 2 Hours. It is easy to maintain and energy efficient. Based on my overall experience with Whirlpool Products, I expect this to last through the guarantee. l,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Southern New Jersey
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Excellent Product and Guarantee.

PostedFebruary 28, 2019
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
Although I have extensive plumbing experience, this unit is easy to install by anyone with the right tools and limited experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Marysville
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

OVerall a very good overall value

PostedNovember 26, 2018
Pros: Easy to install
Good overall value, well packaged, all parts arrived with the unit, easy install, unit fired right up without any issues.
Only concern was the plastic mesh that is required to be installed around the bottom of the water heater. I looks like an after thought that someone came up with came up with to solve a design problem. Instructions say to clean it every six months. I am pretty sure that no one will ever remember to go clean the plastic filter around the bottom of the water heater unless they have problem with the unit not functioning correctly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Overland Park
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
No, I do not recommend this product

died after 1.5 years

PostedNovember 18, 2018
Cons: Unreliable
We installed this in 2016. 2018, pilot light no longer stays lit. After doing a lot of research, this particular Honeywell Thermocouple seems to rarely last more than a few years. Very disappointed, probably will not purchase another product from Whirlpool/Honeywell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Lancaster
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy installation and start up

PostedNovember 2, 2018
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill
I purchased this water heater to replace a 18 year old unit I had previously installed. The main reason I purchased this model was name recognition and the fact that it was exactly the same height as the unit it was replacing which make for a much easier installation. Aside from a defective fitting I purchased from the hardware store, the installation was relatively simple. I was a bit concerned about the start up because it is much more high tech than my old unit but no problems at all. I also like the status light that indicates whether or not the unit is functioning properly.I just this week did install so I can't speak about reliability yet. Hopefully it lasts as long as my last unit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Northeast Wisconsin
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

So far, so good...

PostedMay 16, 2018
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable, fast recovery, good price, efficient
Water heater was installed Nov 2016. It has fast recovery and keeps water at selected temperature without fuss. I had never heard of Whirlpool water heaters before but my contractor recommended based on his own prior experience. Reliability has been good and the price was right at Lowe's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: antioch
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

so far so good

PostedFebruary 25, 2018
heats my water and provides it quickly. The plumber had it installed quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Detrooit area
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great product

PostedNovember 20, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Reliable
Easy to install, worked as expected. never runs out of hot water
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Prichard
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Great product

PostedNovember 8, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Reliable
Very pleased, easy to install, works great and great value
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Riverton
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

This product produces great hot water

PostedOctober 7, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Reliable
When my last water heater decided to start leaking we decided we better get a new one. We really like this company and so chose to purchase this one. it is easy to set, easy to light the pilot light, and it tells us with a flashing LED light everything is going well. We can do laundry all day long and still have enough hot water to run the dishwasher and shower 6 people. Great product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Fernley
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

This is a great product

PostedSeptember 6, 2017
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
Cons: none
I would recommend this product to anyone, easy to install, great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Tulsa
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easiest install I have ever done

PostedJune 19, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
3 years ago I had leaking input lines on my old water heater they were the flex copper tubing I soldered connections on to convert to the braided lines back then, and when my hot water heater finally went out this whirlpool matched it exactly, even the hard piped gas line fit perfectly. Entire install removal and replace took less than an hour as a result.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Dallas
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great Value

PostedJune 18, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill
Unit is substantially more efficent than my old HWH.
My only suggestions are to:
1) not use plastic drain valves,
2) Put installation manual at the tope of the box so a homowner can review it without destroying the packaging
3) manual should caution homeowners not to remove the blue plactic nipple inserts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: North Las Vegas
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This water heater is superb

PostedJune 1, 2017
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
This water heater has everything I had ever hoped for it to be, and its ease of installation and use really help this water heater shine above the rest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Granite City
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Fair installation along with a nice feature

PostedMay 23, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
fairly easy to install & has a LED to let you know if the pilot is lit, a good feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Gaithersburg
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

So far so good. Heats quickly and should last for years.

PostedMay 22, 2017
Pros: Easy to install
Very early to tell if this one will last as long as prior model. Had a different brand for 18 years but I should have paid more attention to it. It wasn't working/heating as well due to sediment accumulating and it finally rusted out. No complaints about the other model - hope this one lasts as long but I will pay more attention to draining and cleaning to avoid water damage again.
Easy to install this model and should be very energy efficient.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: PITTSBURGH, PA
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Overall good quality and nice features

PostedMay 22, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: Raised my energy bill
Installation wasn't too difficult. My one complaint is that the Spec Sheet doesn't provide the size of the T&P valve discharge opening. I just measured the diameter and am hoping for best result when the connector and pipe arrive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Tennessee
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Simple to install

PostedMay 21, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
Easy to installation and seems vey reliable for my family and I.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - ND50T122-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Florence
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great Features - Easy to Install

PostedMay 17, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
The plumbing attachment points are well-placed. The pilot lighting procedure is easy to follow. I particularly like the lit-pilot indicator
flashing light. Start to finish attic installation accomplished in approximately four hours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 32 Next »>>