Customer reviews for Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403

Whirlpool 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403

50 Gallon Tall Natural Gas Water Heater - 12 Year Warranty
Overall rating:
4.61 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(195 reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 195 reviews
5
129
4
57
3
8
2
1
1
0
186 out of 191(97%)reviewers recommend this product
Customer reviews for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Review 1 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: sacramento
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Great Features and Looks Great

PostedJanuary 3, 2018
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill
This water heater has a lot of great features and it is works so well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Los Angeles
Plumbing Expertise: Novice
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install

PostedAugust 20, 2017
Pros: Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
This product is very good. Easy to install, just follow the instruction, especially just replace the old one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Paso Robles
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Works like a charm

PostedJune 28, 2017
Pros: Easy to install
Cons: none really
Installation was simple. Had to call the retailer for advice on the blue plastic "inserts" at the top of the heater. After that, minor mod to the safety discharge plumbing, and done!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Chino Hills
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Narrow and Easy

PostedJune 24, 2017
Pros: Easy to install
Much lighter than previous unit. Very Easy to install and operate. Excellent Price!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Fresno
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Very impressed

PostedJune 23, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install
Cons: very heavy
My old water heater was a Hotpoint as well and served me well for 18 years. The water temperature was inconsistent but I decided to go with another Hotpoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: San Francisco Bay Area
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

Good value

PostedJune 19, 2017
Pros: Reliable
This was a nearly exact replacement for my former gas water heater, which lasted 15 years. I went with the 12 year warranty unit, hoping for another 15 years of good service. I looked into upgrading to a more efficient unit, but the gas cost savings did not justify the increased water heater cost in my situation. The fact that this unit continues to operate during a power outage is also a benefit over more complex units.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Yucaipa
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great product at a great price.

PostedMay 12, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
I love this thing.. For a water heater it is good looking, has nice features,easy to install all at a great price.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Riverside
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great quality and value for the money.

PostedMay 9, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Reliable, piezoelectric ignitor system, large capacity
Cons: none
For an experienced DIY'er this product was easy to install and operate (just make sure to follow all the installation instructions). It also has all the desired features such as an easy-to-use Temperature Control System and a piezoelectric igniter system. I purchased my product from Lowes, which is transitioning to A O Smith water heaters (they build the water heaters for Whirlpool) so this was a discontinued item and I got a really great price on it. After lighting the burner for the first time, the water heated very quickly and we were able to use the hot water after about 10 minutes. I would definitely recommend this product to family and friends.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: fremont ca
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Seems to be the best out there

PostedMay 5, 2017
Pros: Easy to install, Reliable
This is the third 50 gallon one I have installed in the past six months. Two being for my brother. Very easy and quick to light just make sure you have a water softener if you have hard water. Of all the water heaters I researched this one with the 12 year warranty always came out on top. The hotter you have any water heater the shorter it's life and the higher the energy bill will be - have it just hot enough for the dishwasher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: St. george, ut
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy to install and great quality

PostedMay 4, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
I installed this about 3 years ago and it has been flawless so far.
It was very easy to install and instructions were easy to understand.
Quality so far has been great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Los Angeles
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Great water heater

PostedApril 30, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
Rally nice color and great quality, but a bit pricey.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Southern California
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Good looking water heater

PostedApril 25, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, smart thermostat
Cons: none so far
Fairly heavy for a water heater, need two people to install in a tight spot like mine. Once in very simple to hook up with npt water heater flex lines and a little soldering for the TP valve discharge line. Very nice finish and no dents so it was packaged pretty good. It has a smart thermostat that has a blinking led to let the user know what the fault is in case it stops heating water. Too early to judge reliability but it started right up with no problems. FYI, you need to get pretty low to see the pilot light thru the window.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Union City
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

This product works well, but had some installation issues.

PostedApril 22, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance
Works well, but after 4 months product had exhaust issues. Made loud humming sound when turning on. Flue had to be replaced from 3" to 4" size, even though installation called for 3".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Simi Valley
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

This product is easy to operate, and was easy to install

PostedApril 17, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Reliable
My friend and I spoke with a plumber who suggested we purchase this unit, and instructed us on the installation which we did on a Sunday, and no plumbers were available, except at a high cost. We installed the unit in about 1.5 hours. It's easy to start and the controls are user friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Murrieta
Plumbing Expertise: Expert
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy installation

PostedApril 7, 2017
Pros: Easy to install
Replaced a leaking water heater with similar capacity and features. Its fairly easy to install even with basic garage tools. Less than 2 hours from box to hot water in my sink and simple to operate. Hope it stay working for its designed (Intended) warranty.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Vacaville
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: A friend or family member
Yes, I recommend this product

Very easy to install

PostedApril 1, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill
I have had this unit installed for only 1 month but very happy with the results. I replace a brand new GEO Spring hybrid which cost over a $1000 dollars in 3 months. My gas bill this month including in heating $65.00.
Could not be more happier
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Morgan Hill
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Lowe's Installer
Yes, I recommend this product

Replacing an old water heater

PostedMarch 29, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Reliable
We replaced our old Whirlpool water heater when it rusted out. I wanted the same level of quality and reliability as I had. I checked around for others and from everything I have read and knew about the product, this still was the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: carson,
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

good design

PostedMarch 26, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
I think good quality if last long us expected. good design.let see if
will do what expected
thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Design 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer avatar
From: Placentia
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: Plumber/Contrator
Yes, I recommend this product

Easy replacement

PostedMarch 12, 2017
Pros: Easy to install
Ease of installation easy to re start. Does not explain how the self cleaning works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 50 Gallon Natural Gas Water Heater - NU50T122-403
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer avatar
From: VENTURA, CALIF
Plumbing Expertise: Very Handy
Who Installed: I did
Yes, I recommend this product

GREAT WATER HEATER

PostedMarch 4, 2017
Pros: Appealing appearance, Easy to install, Lowered my energy bill, Reliable
MY PRIOR WATER HEATER ALSO WAS A WHIRLPOOL AND NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH IT FOR 10 YEARS REPLACING IT BECAUSE OF ITS AGE AND HAS NOT YET FAILED AND I AM SURE THIS NEW ONE WILL BE JUST A RELIABLE
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 Next »>>